Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Tuesday 9 March 2021


84,480 Views 23 Comments

Good afternoon one and all and welcome along to our live coverage of this All-Ireland SFC quarter-final double header from Croke Park.

First up, we have the meeting of Mikey Harte’s Tyrone and Mayo at 4pm.

A view of Croke Park ahead Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Who will join Kerry and Tipp in the last four? We have two fascinating games in store with Dublin’s clash with Donegal to come later.

But we’re focusing on the first offering, with Ulster champions Tyrone going head-to-head with Mayo at HQ.

With a little over half an hour until we get underway, lets take a look at the teams.

Mayo have been able to name the in-form Diarmuid O’Connor in their XV after he shrugged off the injury that kept him out of last weekend’s win over Westmeath.

The Ballintubber man is the only change to Stephen Rochford’s side for today’s quarter-final.

Diarmuid O'Connor reacts to a missed chance Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
9. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)

13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
15. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber, captain)

Mickey Harte, meanwhile, has kept faith with the same team that saw off Donegal in last month’s Ulster final.


1. Niall Morgan (Edendork)

2. Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciarán)
3. Ronan McNamee (Aghyaran)
4. Cathal McCarron (Dromore)

5. Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher)
6. Justin McMahon (Omagh)
7. Peter Harte (Errigal Ciarán)

8. Colm Cavanagh (Moy)
9. Mattie Donnelly (Trillick)

10. Cathal McShane (Eoghan Roe O’Neill)
11. Niall Sludden (Dromore)
12. Ronan McNabb (Dromore)

13. Connor McAliskey (Clonoe)
14. Sean Cavanagh (Captain – Moy)
15. Ronan O’Neill (Omagh)

Today’s double-header is a complete sell-out with over 80,000 fans set to pack inside Croke Park on what is a glorious afternoon in the capital.

A view of Croke Park ahead Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Both sets of players are out on the pitch warming up. Which way do you see this one going?

Before we go any further, two late changes on the Mayo side to tell you about.

No scores to tell you about in the opening six minutes with both teams squandering possession easily in these opening exchanges. A couple of wides at either end, too.

Tyrone 0-0 Mayo 0-1

Mayo draw first blood. Aidan O’Shea with a superb long-range point and we’re up and running at Croke Park.

Tyrone 0-1 Mayo 0-1

And that’s a fine response from Tyrone as Niall Sludden gets his side on the board.

Tyrone 0-1 Mayo 0-2

Mayo hit the front again as Moran scores his second of the day. It’s a free-flowing game so far as we reach the 15 minute mark.

Tyrone 0-1 Mayo 0-3

Cillian O’Connor converts the first free of the day and Mayo’s lead is two.

Tyrone 0-3 Mayo 0-4

Game has suddenly burst into life with Mattie Donnelly scoring two points in quick succession to bring Tyrone level before O’Connor nails one from under the Cusack Stand. A terrific score.

Tyrone 0-4 Mayo 0-4

And we’re level again! Ronan O’Neill makes no mistake from a free and the sides are locked at four apiece after 21 minutes.

Tyrone 0-4 Mayo 0-5

Superb from O’Connor as he drives in from the left before popping it over the bar. A fascinating first quarter with Mayo just edging things on the scoreboard.

Tyrone 0-5 Mayo 0-5

The sides are trading blows now and there’s nothing to separate them. Peter Harte draws the Ulster champions level.

Tyrone 0-7 Mayo 0-5

Tyrone lead for the first time as Harte and Donnelly point again.

That was absolutely sensational from Donnelly, an absolute peach.

Tyrone 0-7 Mayo 0-6

O’Connor’s right boot lands another free as we approach half-time.

Tyrone 0-7 Mayo 0-7

A monster score from Colm Boyle draws Mayo just before the break.

Three minutes of added time at Croker.

Proceedings are delicately poised heading into the second half. It could still go either way with both sides enjoying spells of possession and scoring in that first period.

Scorers for Tyrone: M Donnelly 0-3, P Harte 0-2 (2fs), N Sludden 0-1, R O’Neill 0-1 (f).

Scorers for Mayo: C O’Connor 0-4 (2fs), A O’Shea 0-1, C Boyle 0-1, A Moran 0-1.

Back underway at HQ.

Tyrone 0-7 Mayo 0-8

Strong start for Mayo and O’Connor kicks his fifth point of the day.

Tyrone 0-8 Mayo 0-8

But Peter Harte is in imperious form down the other end. Another superb score and we’re level for the sixth time.

Tyrone 0-8 Mayo 0-10

The westerners have a two-point lead. Substitute Tom Parsons makes an immediate impact with a point and then O’Connor dissects the posts with his third free.

Tyrone 0-9 Mayo 0-10

Conor McAliskey with his first of the day and it’s back to one.

SAVE! Connor McAliskey gathers and forces David Clarke into a fine stop.

Tyrone 0-10 Mayo 0-10

But there’s no stopping McAliskey this time as he converts another free. Guess what? We’re level again.

Tyrone 0-11 Mayo 0-11

Harte manufactures a yard of space for himself to pop another point over before Lee Keegan levels matters again.

Red card! Sean Cavanagh is sent off for a second bookable offence after fouling Aidan O’Shea.

Tyrone 0-11 Mayo 0-12

With 10 minutes remaining, O’Connor adds his seventh point to the scoreboard.

Tyrone 0-12 Mayo 0-13

We’re in for a grandstand finish. Tiernan McCann is fouled and McCurry slots over the resultant free before Keegan responds immediately. Mayo by one heading into the final four minutes.

Mickey Harte looks on anxiously. Time is running out for his side, who have been reduced to 14 men. It’s going to the wire though.

Mayo don’t go for the extra score and give the ball, and then a free away! Stephen Rochford is going mad on the sideline.

But Niall Morgan misses! There’s still two minutes to go and it’s a one-point game.

MISS! Oh and another. Tyrone register their 14th wide as McCurry pushes his very kick-able effort right of the posts.

Mayo beat Tyrone by a point to advance to the All-Ireland semi-finals, and a meeting with Tipperary!

Thanks for joining us this afternoon, we’re quickly hopping over here for live coverage of the second quarter-final of the day as Dublin meet Donegal.

About the author:

Ryan Bailey