This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 20 March, 2019

UCD hit four goals against UL to move closer to ending 20-year Sigerson Cup drought

UCD last contested a final in 2003 and last won the title in 1996.

UCD 4-12
UL 1-9

KILDARE STAR NIALL Kelly fired two goals as UCD hammered UL in the first Sigerson Cup semi-final in Belfast this afternoon.

Eoin Lowry with Patrick O'Connor Eoin Lowry was amongst the goalscorers today for UCD. Source: Presseye/Stephen Hamilton/INPHO

Victory puts UCD in a final for the first time since 2003 and a chance to end their 20-year title drought in this competition.

A surprisingly one-sided contest today was over after 16 minutes with a star-studded Dublin outfit scoring the opening 2-5 without reply.

Tipperary’s Liam Casey scored a second minute goal and Laois’ Eoin Lowry ran through a porous Limerick defence to drill a rocket across the goalkeeper after 13 minutes.

Dublin star Paul Mannion hit two points from play, with Westmeath star John Heslin nailing four frees in the first-half.

Aidan Rowan finally got UL, who’d narrowly beaten Queen’s University in the quarter-finals, on the board with an 18th minute point as they trailed 2-5 to 0-1.

Source: HE GAA/YouTube

But it was temporary respite, Kildare’s Niall Kelly drilling home the first of his two goals in the 20th minute, helping John Divilly’s side lead by 3-9 to 0-2 at the break.

UL had the wind in the second half and with UCD running their bench they were at least able to make a better game of it after the break.

Paul Mannion with Denis Daly UL's Denis Daly gets the ball away under pressure from UCD's Paul Mannion Source: Presseye/Stephen Hamilton/INPHO

Kerry’s Brian O’Shea was on target from play and from dead balls, nailing a ’45′ and a free. Niall Kelly grabbed his second goal after intercepting a poor pass to the UL goalkeeper in the 48th minute.

Galway’s Ian Burke scored UL’s only goal in the 54th minute with a low left-footed finish but UCD ran out comfortable winners.

Scorers for UCD: Niall Kelly 2-0, John Heslin 0-5 (0-4f), Liam Casey, Eoin Lowry (one ’45′) 1-1 each, Paul Mannion 0-3 (0-1f), Conor McCarthy, Tommy Moolick 0-1 each.

Scorers for UL: Brian O’Shea 0-4 (0-1f, 0-1 ’45), Ian Burke 1-0, Daniel Daly 0-2, Aidan Rowan, Ruairi Deane, Kevin Moore (0-1f) 0-1 each.

Ryan Wylie with Danny Neville UCD's Ryan Wylie comes under pressure from UL's Danny Neville Source: Presseye/Stephen Hamilton/INPHO


Eoghan Keogh (Mountmellick, Laois)

Ryan Wylie (Ballybay, Monaghan)
David Hyland (Athy, Kildare)
Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala, Dublin)

Seán O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen, Limerick)
David Byrne (St Olaf’s, Dublin)
Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf, Dublin)

Jack Barry (Na Gaeil, Kerry)
Liam Casey (Cahir, Tipperary)

Niall Kelly (Athy, Kildare)
James McEntee (Curraha, Meath)
Conor McCarthy (Scotstown, Monaghan)

John Heslin (St Loman’s Mullingar, Westmeath)
Eoin Lowry (Killeshin, Laois)
Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)

Niall McInerney (St Brigid’s, Roscommon) for McCaffrey (15)
Stephen Coen (Hollymount-Carramore, Mayo) for Hyland (half-time)
Paul Kingston (Arles-Killeen, Laois) for McCarthy (HT)
Robert Carr (Newtown Blues, Louth) for Mannion (40)
Tommy Moolick (Leixlip, Kildare) for Kelly (51)


Colm O’Driscoll (Castlehaven, Cork)

Eamonn Kiely (Brosna, Kerry)
Cathal Long (An Ghaeltacht, Kerry)
Patrick O’Connor (Dingle, Kerry)

Aidan Rowan (Cashel, Longford)
Denis Daly (St Mary’s, Kerry)
Fergal Boland (Aghamore, Mayo)

Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s, Limerick)
Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues, Cork)

Danny Neville (Ballysteen, Limerick)
Shane Killoran (Elphin, Roscommon)
Cian Sheehan (Newcastlewest, Limerick)

Ian Burke (Corofin, Galway)
Kevin Moore (Glin, Limerick)
Bryan O’Shea (Dr Crokes, Kerry)

David Larkin (Horeswood, Wexford) for Hegarty (20)
Paul White (Rathkeale, Limerick) for F Boland (22)
Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers, Tipperary) for Larkin (BC, 26)
James Naughton (St Senan’s, Limerick) for Moore (44)
Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora, Clare) for Killoran (45)
Niall Donovan (Arravale Rovers, Tipperary) for Daly (51)

Referee: Ciaran Branagan (Down)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

3 late fitness tests for Clare players and 7 ruled out for trip to face Wexford

Burke back in Galway defence for Dublin clash tomorrow night

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Orla Bannon

Read next: