This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 21 February, 2020

Dragons forward to captain Wales for the first time as Gatland rings the changes

Wales face Argentina in San Juan on Saturday.

Hill will captain Wales for the first time.
Hill will captain Wales for the first time.
Image: Athena Pictures

CORY HILL WILL captain Wales for the first time when they play Argentina in San Juan on Saturday in the first match of a two-Test series.

The second row is one of seven survivors from the starting team in a 22-20 victory over South Africa in Washington last Saturday.

Full-back Hallam Amos, winger George North, hooker Elliot Dee, prop Dillon Lewis, flanker Seb Davies and number eight Ross Moriarty are also retained.

North switches positions, though, playing on the left wing having filled the outside centre role against the Springboks in an error-strewn match.

Those introduced for the clash with the Pumas include winger Josh Adams, centres Scott Williams and Hadleigh Parkes, fly-half Rhys Patchell and scrum-half Gareth Davies.

Forward changes made by coach Warren Gatland give starts to prop Wyn Jones, lock Adam Beard and flanker James Davies.

Explaining the multiple switches, Gatland said: “We have made a number of changes for Saturday as we want to give as much opportunity to the squad as possible during this campaign.

“Last weekend was an important result in difficult conditions up in Washington and we know we have got two big tests ahead of us against Argentina.

“They are a side that come together full of confidence and it is important we take our opportunities.

“There is a lot of exciting youth in this squad and Saturday is a chance for them to continue building their experience on the Test scene and to put a marker down.”

Wales have played six previous Tests in Argentina, winning three and losing three.


15. Hallam Amos
14. Josh Adams
13. Scott Williams
12. Hadleigh Parkes
11. George North
10. Rhys Patchell
9. Gareth Davies

8. Ross Moriarty
7. James Davies
6. Seb Davies
5. Cory Hill (captain)
4. Adam Beard
3. Dillon Lewis
2. Elliot Dee
1. Wyn Jones


16. Ryan Elias
17. Rob Evans
18. Tomas Francis
19. Josh Turnbull
20. Aaron Wainwright
21. Aled Davies
22. Gareth Anscombe
23. Owen Watkin.

© – AFP 2018

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Kerry’s Jack Daly set for U20 debut as Ireland bid to end losing run against Georgia

2019 RWC qualifying appeals fail, World Rugby vows to take tighter control

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:


Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel