This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 21 June, 2018

Two sent off in fiery finale as Waterford defeat Cork to go top of the table

Derek McGrath’s side continued on their winning ways tonight.

Waterford 0-20
Cork 1-14

Denis Hurley reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

WATERFORD’S SECOND SUCCESSIVE Allianz Hurling League Division 1A win was well deserved at Páirc Uí Rinn on Saturday evening, though they almost had to settle for a draw.

Tempers flare Tempers flared late on in tonight's clash between Cork and Waterford Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Having led by 0-16 to 0-8 after a roaring start to the second half, the Déise found themselves under pressure as Cork improved in the closing stages.

The score stood at 0-20 to 0-14 when Patrick Hogan goaled from a Cork free in injury time, and only a good Stephen O’Keeffe save denied Paudie O’Sullivan what would have been an equalising goal.

Had Waterford been denied, it would have been harsh as Derek McGrath’s side were the superior outfit for much of the encounter.

They led by 0-11 to 0-7 at half-time, thanks to the reliable free-taking of Maurice Shanahan and excellent defensive displays from Philip Mahony and Darragh Fives, with Austin Gleeson full of industry at midfield.

Alan Cadogan Red card is brandished in Alan Cadogan's direction by referee James Owens Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Cork were offering little in attack though they could at least call on the dead-ball accuracy of Horgan, who scored three of their first-half points.

A response would have been expected from the hosts on the resumption, but instead Waterford pulled further clear, with Shane Bennett and Jamie Barron scoring fine efforts.

Just when the outcome seemed inevitable, Cork roused themselves as Conor Lehane scored two points and sub Alan Cadogan got on the scoresheet too.

Diarmuid O'Sullivan A furious Diarmuid O'Sullivan reacts after Cork's Aidan Walsh is fouled Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Then, Waterford lost Shanahan to a red card for an off-the-ball incident in the closing stages, but Cadogan followed him moments later for a similar offence.

Horgan’s goal gave Cork brief hope, but it was to prove short-lived.

Scorers for Waterford:  Maurice Shanahan 0-5 (0-4 frees, 0-1 65), Patrick Curran 0-4 (0-1f), Austin Gleeson 0-3 (0-1f), Colin Dunford, Jamie Barron 0-2 each, Kevin Moran, Shane Bennett, Darragh Fives, Jake Dillon 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 1-6 (1-4f), Conor Lehane 0-3, Brian Lawton 0-2, Aidan Walsh (0-1 sideline), Daniel Kearney, Alan Cadogan 0-1 each.

Mark Ellis with Barry Coughlan Cork's Mark Ellis is grounded by Waterford's Barry Coughlan Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)

7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
6. Darragh Fives (Tourin)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

5. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)

12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
14. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)

15. Colin Dunford (Colligan)
11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)

22. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg) for Bennett (59)
24. Tom Devine (Modeligo) for Curran (62)
23. Michael Kearney (Ballyduff Upper) for Dunford (70)


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

7. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)

5. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
3. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. William Egan (Kilbrin)

8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfield)
9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)

11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
12. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)

10. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
14. William Leahy (Aghada)
13. Conor Lehane (Midleton)


20. Alan Cadogan (Douglas) for Leahy (half-time)
23. Stephen Moylan (Douglas) for Kearney (half-time)
18. Mark Ellis (Millstreet) for Egan (45)
24. Cormac Murphy (Mallow) for Spillane (48)
22. Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields) for Walsh (58, blood)
21. Páudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne) for McLoughlin (65)

Referee: James Owens (Wexford)

2015 minor Shanagher to make first league start for Clare as Banner make 3 changes

Limerick’s Ardscoil Rís are Harty Cup champions for the fourth time

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: