This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 28 February, 2020
Advertisement

'It's a bitter pill to swallow' - Broadhurst left frustrated after controversial World Championships defeat

The Dundalk woman was hit with a point deduction in the final round of her bout against Indian Simranjit Baath Kaur.

Amy Broadhurst looks on in devastation as her Indian opponent is declared the winner.
Amy Broadhurst looks on in devastation as her Indian opponent is declared the winner.

Updated at 17.25

IRELAND’S AMY BROADHURST says suffering a controversial quarter-final defeat at the AIBA World Women’s Elite Championships in India is a “bitter pill to swallow”.

Broadhurst missed out on a bronze medal after suffering a split-decision loss to Indian Simranjit Baath Kaur.

The Dundalk fighter was hit with a point deduction in the final round for hitting with the inside of the glove after she was given three warnings. The third warning triggered a huge reaction in the stadium as it seemed that Broadhurst had landed a legitimate shot.

It was a pivotal moment which appeared to knock the Irish fighter in the final minute of the bout, and she was in tears after her Indian opponent was declared the winner.

“It’s a bitter pill to swallow,” Broadhurst wrote on Facebook.

“I dedicate my whole life to this sport, put it before everything in my life & it just finds a way to kick you in the gut every time.

Three world championships and losing out in the quarter-final three times. That medal seemed so close to me, I honestly had such a good feeling about the fight today but when you’re boxing an Indian in India it’s always going to be tough to get a nod even if it’s close.

“I thought without the warning I could have got it but when I received the public warning for landing a clear shot I knew I wasn’t going to get it.

“I know a lot of people thought I won the fight but we don’t stop here. I’m 21, I have 10 years to take over the world. I’m no. 5 in the world in my first elite tournament.

“I know there are positives to take. Thank you to everyone for the support. My club and everyone who sponsored me, especially my main sponsor CTI Business Solutions.

Together we will take over the world but it’s not meant to be now. Now it’s time for a break. It’s been a long year”.

Both fighters enjoyed impressive spells in the first two rounds with Broadhurst making a strong start in the opening round before Simranjit mustered a strong response in the second.

Broadhurst was back on top again in the third round before Simranjit fell to the canvas in what was ruled by the referee as a slip.

That moment was followed by the controversial point deduction inside the final minute of action, and Broadhurst worked hard make up the lost ground before the final bell.

The judges declared Simranjit the 3-1 winner in the end with the final scorecards reading 27-29, 28-28, 29-27, 30-26, 29-27 in her favour.

You can watch the full fight here.

Source: BFI Official/YouTube

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Read next:

COMMENTS (3)

This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel