This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 17 °C Sunday 9 August, 2020

Owen Farrell the first recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy as wife and son present award

Olive and Tony Foley presented the newly-crowned European Player of the Year with the trophy.

Olive and Tony Foley present Farrell with the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy.
Olive and Tony Foley present Farrell with the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy.

SARACENS’ OWEN FARRELL was presented with the newly-commissioned Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy following his side’s Champions Cup win this evening, as he was named Euopean Player of the Year.

Foley’s wife, Olive, and their son Tony were at Murrayfield to hand the accolade over to the trophy’s first recipient after his side’s 28-17 victory over Clermont Auvergne.

European Professional Club Rugby [EPCR] announced that they would make the tribute to Munster and Ireland legend ‘Axel’ Foley earlier today.

Saracens fly-half Farrell scored 13 points today as the holders of the European Rugby Champions Cup successfully defended their crown against ASM Clermont Auvergne in Edinburgh.

Tweet by @Munster Rugby Source: Munster Rugby/Twitter

The England international emerged as the winner from a shortlist of five players, beating teammate and 2016 winner Maro Itoje, Clermont’s Camille Lopez, Leinster’s Garry Ringrose and Munster’s CJ Stander to the accolade.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Extra-time can’t separate Austin Stacks and St Kieran’s as Dingle and St Brendan’s march on

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next: