All-Ireland club finalists to face 2012 winners in Clare while Cork champs get bye to last eight

The latest Clare hurling and Cork football draws took place last night.

ALL-IRELAND CLUB finalists Ballyea will take on 2012 county senior champions Newmarket-on-Fergus after last night’s Clare senior hurling quarter-final draw.

Tony Kelly celebrates with Paul Flanagan Tony Kelly and Paul Flanagan celebrate February's All-Ireland club semi-final win. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Ballyea were denied an All-Ireland title by Dublin’s Cuala on St Patrick’s Day last at Croke Park after a memorable campaign that saw them win their maiden Clare and Munster senior crowns last year.

Tony Kelly’s club will now face a last eight clash in this year’s Clare championship against a Newmarket-on-Fergus side that won the 2012 county senior title and lost the 2013 final.

The other standout game from the quarter-final draw sees 2014 champions Cratloe, who reached that year’s Munster club decider, take on 2015 winners Sixmilebridge.

The Sixmilebridge team celebrate winning Sixmilebridge lifted the Clare senior hurling title in 2015. Source: Gareth Williams/INPHO

Clonlara, beaten finalists for the last two years, will meet 2007 kingpins Tulla and the remaining quarter-final tie will see Éire Óg take on Clooney-Quin.

The Round 4 draw for the Cork senior football championship also took place last night with reigning champions Carbery Rangers benefiting from a bye to the quarter-finals, as did 2012 and 2013 winners Castlehaven, and the 2013 beaten finalists Duhallow.

Carbery Rangers celebrate with the trophy Carbery Rangers won the Cork county senior final last year. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

2015 champions Nemo Rangers will meet last year’s premier intermediate winners Kiskeam at the fourth round stage, while 2014 kingpins Ballincollig have been drawn against Carrigaline.

David Lordan lifts the cup Ballincollig celebrate their 2014 county senior final win. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

The draws in full are as follows:

Clare Senior Hurling Championship

Sixmilebridge v Cratloe
Clonlara v Tulla
Newmarket-on-Fergus v Ballyea
Éire Óg v Clooney-Quin

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Cork Senior Football Championship

Round 4
Clyda Rovers v UCC
Nemo Rangers v Kiskeam
Valley Rovers v Avondhu
Ballincollig v Carrigaline
Bishopstown/St Finbarr’s v Cork IT
Duhallow a bye
Carbery Rangers a bye
Castlehaven a bye

* Quarter-Finals draw at a later date

Source: The42 Podcasts/SoundCloud

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel