Rodgers is in his second season at Liverpool. AP/Press Association Images

Rodgers beats Pulis to Manager of the Year award

The Liverpool boss picked up the top prize at the LMA’s annual dinner in London last night.

LIVERPOOL’S BRENDAN RODGERS was named League Managers’ Association (LMA) Manger of the Year last night.

The 41-year-old Northern Irishman led the Reds to runners-up in the Premier League this season — finishing two points off title-winners Manchester City and qualifying for the Champions League for the first time in four years.

Rodgers, who took over at the club in 2012, earned plaudits for the attacking brand of football his side produced and was presented with the award, which is voted on by all LMA members, at their annual dinner.

Having come in mid-season to lead Crystal Palace to 11th in the table, Tony Pulis picked up Premier League Manager of the Year on the night while Nigel Pearson earned the Championship prize after winning the second tier title with Leicester City.

“There can be no greater tribute to a manager and his work than a tribute awarded by his match day foes and peers,” LMA chairman Howard Wilkinson said of Rodgers. “This evening we applaud Brendan Rodgers as he receives that most valuable award.

“Liverpool Football Club’s performances and results this season have provoked memories of some of those momentous years in the past when they had to contend with those two Uniteds, the first from Leeds, the second from Manchester.

“For Liverpool and Brendan, I’m sure we all hope this season marks the beginning of a new voyage and a new era.

Brendan is not an ‘overnight’ success. Aged just 20, his career in professional football was cruelly halted by serious injury. Undaunted by such a devastating set-back that can have a stunning effect on one’s life, let alone career, he set off determined to get a coaching education and, along the way, he has filled almost every post in the game.

“His career as a manager has been eventful. Four years after securing his first job at Watford, and following much self-reflection after being dismissed at Reading, he enjoyed great success at Swansea before being appointed at Liverpool in June 2012 where he has made a huge impact.

“Being present at a match at Anfield this season was reminiscent of the truly good old days; long may it continue.”

The other winners on the night were:

  •  LMA Manager of the Year sponsored by Barclays – Brendan Rodgers, Liverpool – presented by Roy Hodgson
  •  LMA Special Merit Award – Russ Wilcox, Scunthorpe United – presented by Alex Ferguson 
  • LMA Service to Football Award – Norman Rimmington, Barnsley – presented by Danny Wilson
  • Barclays Premier League Manager of the Year – Tony Pulis, Crystal Palace – presented by Howard Wilkinson
  • Sky Bet Football League Championship Manager of the Year – Nigel Pearson, Leicester City – presented by David Moyes
  • Sky Bet Football League 1 Joint Managers of the Year – Kenny Jackett, Wolverhampton Wanderers & Russell Slade, Leyton Orient – presented by Sam Allardyce
  • Sky Bet Football League 2 Manager of the Year – Russ Wilcox, Scunthorpe United – presented by Chris Hughton
  • Budweiser FA Cup Manager of the Year – Nigel Clough, Sheffield United – presented by Roberto Martinez

12 alternative end-of-season Premier League awards

Whelan: Players not into summer friendlies but they offer a great opportunity

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.