Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Wednesday 21 April 2021

Six-in-a-row Tipp champions Burgess-Duharra impressively defend Munster title

Elsewhere, Wexford’s St Mogue’s Fethard were crowned Leinster junior club hurling champions.

TIPPERARY CHAMPIONS BURGESS-DUHARRA have successfully defended their Munster senior title following an impressive win over Clare’s Inagh Kilnamona  at the Gaelic Grounds this afternoon.

Last year they beat Cork’s Inniscarra — who had stunned then-reigning All-Ireland champions Milford — on route to winning the provincial crown, and this year, the trophy will again spend the winter in Tipperary.

Eimear McDonnell and Jenny Grace got the holders straight off the mark with a quickfire 1-1 in the opening minutes. Inagh Kilnamona’s Amy Keating slotted over three frees in response, but Amy Kennedy soon cancelled those efforts out at the other end with a well-taken goal.

The frantic pace of the opening 10 minutes or so continued but Burgess-Duharra looked comfortable in the lead. The sides went in at half-time with the scoreboard reading 2-8 to 0-4.

On the restart, the Clare champions came out fighting and it was Sinead O’Loughlin who had the sliotar in the back of the net by 42 minutes.

Keating and Andrea O’Keeffe followed suit with points to leave two between the sides, but that was as close as Inagh Kilnamona would get in this, their first Munster senior final.

The two early goals proved crucial and one of the scorers, Amy Kennedy, would have the final say when she pointed as the clock struck 60 to seal her side’s Munster two in-a-row.

Waterford’s Lismore and Cork’s Newcestown were set to contest the Munster intermediate club final in Cahir this afternoon also, but that game was called off with the pitch deemed unplayable.

Elsewhere, Wexford’s St Mogue’s Fethard have been crowned Leinster junior club hurling champions after beating Kilkenny side John Lockes at Innovate Wexford Park.

The game finished 1-17 to 2-11, with full-forward Graham O’Grady hitting Fethard’s only goal in the first half.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

The eventual winners drew first blood and raced into the lead, dominating for much of the first half with the scoreboard reading 1-9 to 0-5 at the break.

John Lockes staged a brave fightback in the second half, rattling the net as they attempted to claw their way back into the game.

Even though there were six points between the side, it still left for an exciting final five minutes and the Kilkenny champions managed to bag another goal.

St Mogues held on how and ever to lift the provincial title.

Munster senior club camogie final

  • Burgess Duharra (Tipperary) 2-10 Inagh Kilnamona (Clare) 1-10

Leinster JHC club final

  • St Mogue’s Fethard (Wexford) 1-17 John Lockes (Kilkenny) 2-11

Munster intermediate club camogie final

  • Lismore (Waterford) v Newcestown (Cork) — re-fixture details TBC

- The original piece has been updated.

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Ireland’s World Cup bid: ‘We don’t think we were holed below the waterline. That’s why we will keep battling’

‘Eriksen is one of the best players in the world but we are not a one-man team’

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel