Dublin: 1°C Monday 24 January 2022

Munster club football previews

There are county football finals this weekend in Clare and Limerick, semi-finals in Cork and Waterford, and two quarter-final ties in Tipperary.

Kilmurry-Ibrickane will be in action in Sunday's Clare county final.
Kilmurry-Ibrickane will be in action in Sunday's Clare county final.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Carbery Rangers v Castlehaven
Páirc Uí Rinn, 7.30pm
Carbery Rangers certainly showcased a resilient side last weekend when defeating Bishopstown by a point at the quarter-final stage in a game where they finished with 12 men.

Indeed they had 13 men for much of the second-half but with all of those dismissals occurring after second yellow cards were shown, there are no suspension worries for the Rosscarbery-based club.

They will hope to improve on their showing at the semi-final stage last year against Castlehaven when they were defeated by 2-12 to 0-5. Castlehaven survived a tough examination against St Finbarr’s before emerging after a replay in their recent quarter-final.

They were beaten in last year’s final on Leeside by UCC and will hope Mark Collins, Brian Hurley and David Limrick can help fire them back to another decider.

Yet Carbery Rangers are a strong proposition with John Hayes, John O’Rourke and James Fitzpatrick in fine form as they look to reach a final against Duhallow.

Verdict: Carbery Rangers
Betting: Castlehaven 8/15, Carbery Rangers 15/8, Draw 7/1

Final: Kilmurry-Ibrickane v St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield, Cusack Park, Ennis, 3.30pm
Kilmurry-Ibrickane are the kingpins in Clare with three title wins in the last four years. In contrast their oppnents St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield last year featured in their first decider in 113 years at this grade.

It was not a pleasant experience twelve months ago either as they were flattened by 0-17 to 0-5 by Kilmurry-Ibrickane. The champions needed all their resolve to better Kilrush Shamrocks after a replay last week with just a point to spare and they will hope Martin McMahon, Ian McInerney and Enda Coughlan can shine here.

Ivor Whyte, Cathal Duggan, Kevin Dilleen and Greg Lyons are the key men in the St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield ranks.

Verdict: Kilmurry-Ibrickane.
Betting: Kilmurry-Ibrickane 1/3, St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield 10/3, Draw 7/1

Paths to Final
First round: Kilmurry-Ibrickane 0-15 Cratloe 1-12; St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield 1-3 Cooraclare 0-11.
First round replay: Kilmurry-Ibrickane 0-17 Cratloe 0-9.
Second round: St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield 0-12 St Senan’s Kilkee 0-8.
Third round: Kilmurry-Ibrickane 2-6 Éire Óg Ennis 0-6; St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield 0-8 Clondegad 0-6.
Quarter-finals: Kilmurry-Ibrickane 1-15 Cratloe 0-3; St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield 1-12 Cooraclare 0-6.
Semi-finals: Kilmurry-Ibrickane 0-9 Kilrush Shamrocks 1-6; St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield 0-7 Doonbeg 0-6.
Semi-final replay: Kilmurry-Ibrickane 0-11 Kilrush Shamrocks 3-1.

Final: Drom-Broadford v Newcastlewest, Gaelic Grounds, 3.30pm
Champions in 2008 and 2009, Drom-Broadford are back contesting a senior football decider in Limerick. They got the better of Fr Casey’s in their semi-final tie with Ray Lynch grabbing the crucial goal while the experience of Seanie Buckley, Jason Stokes and Micheál Reidy will be central to their hopes of success.

James Kelly struck the crucial goal for Newcastlewest in their semi-final win over Ballysteen with Iain Corbett, Thomas Quilligan and Stephen Kelly other important figures in their side. They are searching for their first title since 1992 here.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Verdict: Drom-Broadford
Betting: Drom-Broadford 4/6, Newcastlewest 6/4, Draw 7/1

Paths to Final
Group 2: Drom-Broadford 0-8 Newcastlewest 1-10; Drom-Broadford 1-10 Ballylanders 0-7, Newcastlewest 1-5 St Senan’s 0-7; Drom-Broadford 2-8 Monaleen 0-6, Newcastlewest 3-8 Ballysteen 1-7; Drom-Broadford 0-13 Ballysteen 0-6, Newcastlewest 0-9 Ballylanders 2-14; Drom-Broadford 0-15 St Senan’s 1-8, Newcastlewest 0-10 Monaleen 0-8.
Quarter-final: Drom-Broadford 2-13 Galbally 1-11.
Semi-finals: Drom-Broadford 1-10 Fr Casey’s 0-9; Newcastlewest 1-8 Ballysteen 0-9.

Thomas McDonagh’s v Éire Óg-Annacarty, The Ragg, 4pm
Last year’s champions Thomas McDonagh’s are shorn of some of the stars that helped them to that success but the divisional outfit can still look to county men George Hannigan and Philip Austin for inspiration.

Éire Óg-Annacarty have been busy with hurling exploits of late but won the West Tipperary final last week with Damien O’Brien and Brian Fox to the fore.

Verdict: Éire Óg-Annacarty
Betting: Thomas McDonagh’s 8/11, Éire Óg-Annacarty 11/8, Draw 13/2

Clonmel Commercials v Arravale Rovers, Cahir, 4pm
Arravale Rovers were ousted in the western divisional final last week and will hope county seniors Robbie Kiely and Donagh Leahy, along with chief attacker Timmy Dalton, can help them bounce back.

Clonmel Commercials will look to the likes of Michael Quinlivan, an All-Ireland minor winner last year, Aldo Matassa and defensive duo Ciaran O’Connell and Donal Lynch to propel them to the semi-finals.

Verdict: Clonmel Commercials
Betting: Clonmel Commercials 4/7, Arravale Rovers 15/8, Draw 6/1

Kieran Connery will be in action for Clashmore-Kinsalebeg tomorrow. Pic: INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan

Semi-Final: Clashmore-Kinsalebeg v The Nire, Fraher Field, Dungarvan, 7.30pm
Stradbally await the victors of this clash after their semi-final win over Ballinacourty last weekend. The Nire, champions in  2006 and 2008, have appeared in six of the last ten finals whereas Clashmore-Kinsalebeg last reached the final in 1982.

The Nire can call on the O’Gorman twins, Thomas and Maurice, while county trio Kieran Connery, Cillian O’Keeffe and Sean Fleming will be central to Clashmore-Kinsalebeg’s hopes.

Verdict: The Nire
Betting: The Nire 2/5, Clashmore-Kinsalebeg 5/2, Draw 7/1

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: