This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 22 November, 2019

No Gooch for Kerry but Fitzgerald returns from club duty, while injury rules out Cork's Walsh

Kerry take on Cavan, while the Rebels play Derry.

Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

FIONN FITZGERALD MAKES his first start of 2017 for Kerry as he returns from his All-Ireland winning club campaign with Dr Crokes.

Fitzgerald is the only Crokes player to make the Kingdom squad, which was named just a week after the Kerry club lifted the Tom Merrigan Cup at Croke Park.

Fitzgerald replaces Shane Enright, who went off injured during their draw with Dublin.

Johnny Buckley and Colm Cooper, who has yet to declare his intentions for the coming campaign, are not included in Fitzmaurice’s plans for Sunday’s game.

In the only other change, Stephen O’Brien comes in for Killian Young, who also went off injured against the Dubs. Paul Murphy reverts from centre-forward to wing-back.

Meanwhile, Cork have made just one change to the side that drew with Meath last weekend.

Aidan Walsh, who left the game against the Royals with a knee injury, hasn’t recovered in time and is replaced by John O’Rourke.

Otherwise Peadar Healy has kept the faith with his side to take on fellow relegation candidates Derry.

Cork (vs Derry)

1. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)

2. Michael Shields (St Finbarr’s)
3. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
4. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)

5. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
6. James Loughrey (Mallow)
7. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)

8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s)
9. Ruairí Deane (Bantry Blues)

10. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
11. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
12. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh)

13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
15. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)


16. Ryan Price (O Donovan Rossa)
17. Alan O Connor (St Colums)
18. Barry O Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)
19. Colm O Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
20. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
21. Donal Og Hodnett (O Donovan Rossa)
22. Donncha O Connor (Ballydesmond)
23. Jamie O Sullivan (Bishopstown)
24. John McLoughlin (Kanturk)
25. Niall Coakley (St Judes)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Welcome return as Cork stalwart and last year’s Player of the Year commits to fold for 2017

Mayo call on a host of All-Ireland winners to begin defence of their U21 crown

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: