Tuesday 31 January 2023 Dublin: 8°C
Donall Farmer/INPHO Jack Brady's late scores helped Cavan remain perfect.
# 100% record
Cavan make it a magnificent seven to keep their perfect record
The Breffni are the only side to finish the Allianz football league with a 100% record.

Cavan 0-18

Limerick 0-14

HAVING ALREADY SEALED promotion to Division 2, Cavan maintained the only perfect record in the Allianz National Football League with a four-point win over Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds this afternoon.

Cavan had started the game slowly, John Galvin, Eoin Hanrahan and Ger Collins all with first half scores to ensure Limerick trailed by just one at the break, 0-8 to 0-7.

Despite Eugene Keating and Jack Brady helping to push Cavan further in front, Galvin’s point ensured there was just a score between the sides as the game entered the final minutes.

However, with their 100% record in trouble, the visitors rallied to hit the final three scores of the game through Gearóid McKiernan, Damien O’Reilly and Michael Lyng to seal the win.

It is the first time Cavan have been really tested in the league this year and Hyland will want to see a vast improvement when his side take on Roscommon in the Division 3 final on April 26.

However, he will take heart from the fact that his side have only conceded an average of 10 points per game in the league, the best record in the competition.

Scorers for Cavan: Michael Lyng 0-4, Eugene Keating 0-3 (1f), Philip Tinnelly, Niall Murray, Damien O’Reilly, Jack Brady (1f) 0-2 each, David Givney, Robert Moloney Derham, Gearoid McKieran (0-1 each).
Scorers for Limerick: Killian Phair 0-3 (1free), John Galvin, Ger Collins, Eoin Hanrahan (1f), Brian Scanlon (2 ‘45) 0-2 each, Paudie Browne, Ian Ryan, Seanie Buckley (0-1 each).

CAVAN: Alan O’Mara; Joshua Hayes, Rory Dunne, Jason McLoughlin; Philip Tinnelly, Alan Clarke, Damien O’Reilly; Tomas Corr, David Givney; Christopher Conroy, Niall McDermott, Niall Murray; Michael Lyng, Eugene Keating, David Hyland.

Subs: Robert Moloney Derham for Tomas Corr (H/T), Jack Brady for Niall McDermott (H/T), Gearoid McKiernan for David Hyland (50mins), Damien Barkery for Jason McLoughlin (50mins), Turloc Mooney for Christopher Conroy (60mins), Martin Dunne for Eugene Keating (68mins).

LIMERICK: Brian Scanlon; Sean O’Dea, Johnny McCarthy, Colm Moran; John Riordan, Paudie Browne, Pa Ranahan; Darragh Treacy, John Galvin; Gearoid Hegarty, Cian Sheehan, Seanie Buckley; Eoin Hanrahan, Ger Collins, Ian Ryan.

Subs: Killian Phair for Eoin Hanrahan (44mins), Garrett Noonan for Darragh Treacy (48mins), Peter Nash for Gearoid Hegarty (48mins), Keith Hartnett for Ian Ryan (55mins), James O’Meara for John Riordan (58mins), Jamie Lee for Cian Sheehan (60mins).

Ref: Liam Devanney (Mayo).

Stillorgan’s Coláiste Íosagáin claim All-Ireland Senior A ladies football title

Same again for Tipperary ahead of Munster U21 football final

Your Voice
Readers Comments