Thursday 9 February 2023 Dublin: 2°C
Ryan Byrne/INPHO
# Wrap
Two goals from John Heslin helps St Loman's secure third straight Westmeath title
Eslewhere, Kilmurry-Ibrickane lifted the Clare football crown and Starlights did the same in Wexford.

ST LOMAN’S WERE crowned Westmeath SFC champions for the third year in succession with a 3-13 to 0-14 victory over Tyrrellspass this afternoon.

Loman’s roared into a 2-0 to 0-2 lead inside six minutes thanks to goals from John Heslin and Sean Flanagan.

They lost Shane Kelly to a red card before the break, but led Denis Glennon’s Tyrrellspass by 2-5 to 0-8 at half-time. Ken Casey kicked a fine second-half score and Heslin added another green flag as the Mullingar outfit picked up their third straight title.

In the Clare SFC decider, Kilmurry-Ibrickane beat Gary Brennan’s Clondegad by 1-14 to 0-14 to pick up their 15th championship title at senior level.

Starlights denied St Martin’s a hurling and football double, with a 0-17 to 1-8 success in the Wexford SFC final today. It was their first title since 2004 and their 10th overall.

Finally, in today’s Galway SHC quarter-final replay, Clarinbridge were dumped out of the championship by Liam Mellows on a scoreline of 1-11 to 0-12. 

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

O’Rourke’s Simonstown Gaels retain Meath title as AFL rookie Nash plays key role

0-13 haul from McBrearty and McHugh hands Kilcar shock Ulster win over Scotstown

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel