Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 8°C
James Crombie/INPHO
# Team-sheets
Jack Carty leads exciting Connacht backline with Henshaw and Aki paired again
Pat Lam has made three changes to the side that lost to Ulster.

CONNACHT HAVE BEEN able to select their first choice centres Bundee Aki and Robbie Henshaw for the fifth time in a backline that shows just one change for the visit of Pro12 leaders Glasgow.

The sole change behind the scrum is at number 10 where Jack Carty gets the nod over Miah Nikora after Craig Ronaldson pulled up injured in the warm-up for the defeat against Ulster last time out.

There are two changes to the pack with the growing injury trouble at lock paving the way for Ultan Dillane to partner Aly Muldowney while Eoin McKeon is selected ahead of George Naoupu who will have to wait a little long to win his 100th cap from the replacements bench.

“You could say this is our toughest game of the season,” said Lam of the clash with the Warriors.

“We understand the massive importance of tomorrow but we have prepared like we would every game. It’s up to us to go out and perform as a team.

“Glasgow are the league leaders for a reason. They are a well-coached side with huge depth in their squad of internationals and they are the number one offloading team who can score plenty of tries. So defensively, we will have to be spot on.”

Glasgow meanwhile have been able to recall Stuart Hogg and Jonny Gray to the starting line-up, the latter named captain for the first time at the age of just 21.

Connacht (v Glasgow Warriors, TG4, Saturday, 13.05):

15. Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Danie Poolman
13. Robbie Henshaw
12. Bundee Aki
11. Matt Healy
10. Jack Carty
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Denis Buckley
2. Tom McCartney
3. Rodney Ah You
4. Ultan Dillane
5. Aly Muldowney
6. John Muldoon (captain)
7. Eoghan Masterson
8. Eoin McKeon

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

16. Shane Delahunt
17. Ronan Loughney
18. Finlay Bealham
19. Andrew Browne
20. George Naoupu
21. John Cooney
22. Miah Nikora
23. Darragh Leader.

Glasgow Warriors

15. Stuart Hogg
14. Tommy Seymour
13. Richie Vernon
12. Peter Horne
11. Niko Matawalu
10. Finn Russell
9. Henry Pyrgos

1. Jerry Yanuyanutawa
2. Fraser Brown
3. Euan Murray
4. Leone Nakarawa
5. Jonny Gray (Captain)
6. Rob Harley
7. Chris Fusaro
8. Adam Ashe

16. Kevin Bryce
17. Ryan Grant
18. Jon Welsh
19. Tim Swinson
20. Josh Strauss
21. Duncan Weir
22. Peter Murchie
23. Lee Jones

‘A soft but well-taken try’: Let a Saracens coach talk you through their defeat to Clermont

A tale of two provinces as Leinster attempt to save season away to Ulster

Your Voice
Readers Comments