This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Sunday 16 December, 2018

Two Darren McCarthy goals have helped Cork into the Waterford Crystal Cup semi-finals

A late Rebels rally sets them up for a semi-final against Clare or Tipperary.

Darren McCarthy, a former goalkeeper with Cork, hit 2-2 this afternoon from corner-forward.
Darren McCarthy, a former goalkeeper with Cork, hit 2-2 this afternoon from corner-forward.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Cork 4-15

Cork IT 1-13

CORK FINISHED STRONGLY to book their place in the semi-finals of the Waterford Crystal Cup against Cork IT at the CIT Sports Stadium this afternoon.

A trio of points from the home side, from Daire Lordan, sub Seán O’Mahony and John Cronin, brought them to within a point, 2-11 to 1-13, with six minutes of normal time left, but the Munster champions produced a powerful response to close out the game.

First, sub Daniel Kearney finished to the net from a Brian Lawton pass and then Darren McCarthy rounded off a nice move involving Paudie O’Sullivan and Peter Kelleher to score his second goal.

Four unanswered points followed to leave 11 between the sides at the end, though for long periods CIT made a game of it. While Stephen Moylan’s 16th-minute goal helped to put Cork into a 1-5 to 0-3 lead, CIT were level at 1-6 each by 29, Kevin Kavanagh with the goal after a well-taken strike.

William Murphy’s point then put the students in front but it was the only time they led. McCarthy put Cork 2-6 to 1-7 in front in the final minute of normal time in the first half, poking home the rebound after Moylan had drawn a good save from Gary Minihane.

Three early points from Dayne Lee, Paudie O’Sullivan and Paul Haughney extended the lead to five points by the 44th minute. An improvement in CIT’s shooting helped to bring them back into contention, but Cork had too much for them in the closing stages.

Scorers for Cork: Darren McCarthy 2-2, Paudie O’Sullivan 0-5 (0-3 frees), Stephen Moylan 1-2, Daniel Kearney 1-0, Dayne Lee, Paul Haughney 0-2 each, Patrick Cronin, Séamus Harnedy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork IT: Daire Lordan 0-4 (0-3 frees), Kevin Kavanagh 1-0, John O’Dwyer, Seán O’Mahony, Conor Hammersley 0-2 each, William Murphy, John Cronin, Bill Cooper 0-1 each.


1. Patrick Collins

2. William Kearney
3. Christopher Joyce
4. Conor O’Sullivan

5. Brian O’Sullivan
6. Lorcán McLoughlin
7. Glen O’Connor

8. Brian Murray
9. Paul Haughney

12. Alan Frahill-O’Connor
11. Andy Walsh
10. Dayne Lee

13. Stephen Moylan
14. Paudie O’Sullivan
15. Darren McCarthy


24. Peter Kelleher for Frahill-O’Connor (half-time)
20. Brian Lawton for Murray (41)
18. Daniel Kearney for Haughney (47, injured)
19. Patrick Cronin for Lee (58, injured)
23. Séamus Harnedy for Walsh (63)


(Cork unless stated)

1. Gary Minihane

2. Stephen Murphy
3. Alan Dennehy
4. Tomás Lawrence

5. Jack Herlihy
6. Michael Russell
7. Cian Buckley

8. Aidan Walsh
9. William Murphy

11. Daire Lordan
10. Bill Cooper
12. John Cronin

13. John O’Dwyer (Tipperary)
19. Kevin Kavanagh
14. Conor Hammersley (Tipperary)


21. Seán O’Mahony for Murphy (57, injured)
23. Noel McNamara for Walsh (66, injured)
15. Patrick White for Lordan (65)

Referee: John McCormack (Tipperary).

TJ Ryan’s reign as Limerick hurling manager started with a good win today

Hurling traditionalists probably won’t like the GAA’s proposed calendar for 2016

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: