Sean O'Donoghue, Colaiste Choilm All-Ireland winning captain, is wing-forward for the Cork minor footballers. Ryan Byrne/INPHO
Rebels Choice

Here's the Cork and Limerick minor football sides for their Munster championship opener

Cork take on Limerick tomorrow night.

Updated 3.30pm

CORK MANAGER DONAL O’Sullivan has selected his side to face Limerick in the Electric Ireland Munster MFC on Wednesday night in Páirc Uí Rinn.

Castlehaven’s Michael Hurley, a brother of senior star Brian, and captain Kevin Flahive are the only two survivors from last year’s provincial semi-final loss to Tipperary. Hurley starts at full-forward while Flahive will line out at full-back.

Centre-back Daniel Meaney and wing-forward Sean O’Donoghue both lined out for the Cork minor hurlers in last week’s victory over Kerry in their provincial opener. Corner-forward Shane Kingston and substitute Martin Collins are also on the hurling panel.

O’Donoghue captained Coláiste Choilm to win the All-Ireland Post-Primary SBFC final last Saturday in Croke Park while wing-back Cian Kiely was also a part of that victorious team.

Substitute Michael Lordan was another member of that Coláiste Choilm side while centre-forward Maidc Ó Duinnín won an All-Ireland Post-Primary SCFC medal recently with Coláiste Ghobnatan.

Michael Hurley in action for the Cork minors last year. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

CORK: Colm O’Driscoll (Castlehaven); Cian O’Donovan (Clonakilty), Kevin Flahive (Douglas – captain), Sean Powter (Douglas); Tom Bushe (Ilen Rovers), Daniel Meaney (St Michael’s), Cian Kiely (Ballincollig); Sean O’Leary (Bantry Blues), Brian Coakley (Carrigaline); Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra), Maidc Ó Duinnín (Naomh Abán), Seamus Ronayne (Clyda Rovers); Shane Kingston (Douglas), Michael Hurley (Castlehaven), Damien Buckley (Ballyclough).

Subs: Anthony Kidney (Passage West), Alex Hassett (Ilen Rovers), John Mullins (Éire Óg), Michael Lordan (Ballinora), David O’Neill (Mayfield), Chris Moynihan (Gabriel Rangers), Gary Murphy (Castletownbere), Michael Cottrell (Newmarket), Martin Collins (Kilmacabea).

Extended Training Panel: Eoin O’Sullivan (Douglas), Conor Nolan (Castlehaven), Ronan Walsh (Castlehaven), Andrew Joyce (Youghal), John Fintan Daly (Knocknagree), Cathal Crowley (Millstreet), Ian O’Callaghan (St Finbarr’s).


Limerick manager Jerry O’Sullivan has also named his team for the game.

LIMERICK: Andy Brudair (Newcastlewest); Luke O’Connell (Mungret), Sean Murphy (Newcastlewest), Stephan Brosnan (Monagea); Sean Ivess (Newcastlewest), Cormac Flanagan (Crecora), Fiachra O’Grady (Oola); Tommy Childs (Galtee Gaels), Mark Reidy (Croom); Mikey Morrissey (St Mary’s/Sean Finns), Richard Hayes (St Senans), Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh); Shane Stack (Newcastlewest), Conor Burke (Crecora), Killian Ryan (Mungret).

Subs: Raymond Noonan (St Kieran’s), Brendan Stack (Gerald Griffins), Robbie Graham (Na Piarsaigh), Dara Noonan (Gerald Griffins), Gary McCarthy (Galbally), David Hanley (Ballysteen), David Mackin (Crecora), Brian Hurley (Newcastlewest), Ciaran Kelly (Ballylanders).

Extended Panel: Ross Kennedy (Murroe Boher), Jack O’Donoghue (Granagh-Ballingarry), Robert Casey (Galbally), Colm Nicol (Ballybricken/Bohermore), Ciaran Brudair (Monagea), Dylan Noonan (Ballylanders), Declan Guerin (Ballysteen), Jamie Shinnors (Croom).

Coláiste Choilm Ballincollig win Paddy Drummond Cup final in dramatic style

Jack O’Connor includes 7 PS Chorca Dhuibhne Hogan Cup winners in Kerry minor team