Morgan Treacy/INPHO Tipperary minor hurling manager Liam Cahill
# Minor Stars
Brilliant Tipperary second-half display hands them Munster semi-final win over Cork
Limerick await in the decider on 10 July.

Tipperary 0-23
Cork 1-15

Fintan O’Toole reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

TIPPERARY PRODUCED A storming second-half display tonight to clinch a place in the Electric Ireland Munster minor hurling final as Cork suffered yet another underage hurling setback.

After their U21 side bowed out of Munster on Tuesday night against Limerick, Cork hurling supporters were searching for a boost tonight.

They looked like they might get that vital win when they enjoyed a 1-9 to 0-9 advantage at the break. The only goal of the game arrived in the 28th minute when Cork attacker Josh Beausang showed the opportunism to whip the ball to the net after the Tipperary defence didn’t deal with a high delivery from Jack O’Connor.

Early in the second-half Cork had pushed 1-12 to 0-9 clear thanks to a point from O’Connor and an excellent brace by substitute Evan Sheehan.

They looked in control with a six-point advantage in the 33rd minute but remarkably they were outscored 0-14 to 0-3 for the remainder of the game.

Tipperary’s excellent revival was spearheaded by Lyndon Fairbrother, Brian McGrath, Cian Darcy, Dylan Walsh and Ger Browne as Liam Cahill’s side secured success on an away trip to Leeside.

The victory propels Tipperary into a final meeting with Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds on 10 July while Cork’s wait for a first Munster final appearance at this grade since 2008 goes on.

Tipperary deserve major credit for their second-half performance as they dominated the middle third. Fairbrother struck five points in the second-half while Dylan Walsh, a half-time substitute, justified the Tipperary management’s faith as he shot 0-4 and caused untold problems for the Cork rearguard.

After trailing by 1-12 to 0-9, Tipperary responded with the game’s next five points. Even though Beausang tried to steady Cork by converting a 40th minute free, Tipperary replied again with four points on the spin to hit the front with ten minutes left.

Trailing by 0-18 to 1-13, Cork were in trouble but they did show the composure to draw level courtesy of points by Beausang and Matthew Bradley.

It was all square with six minutes to go yet Tipperary wrestled back the momentum again in the finale as they hit the last five points of the game courtesy of Paddy Cadell, McGrath, Browne, Walsh and Fairbrother.

That late scoring spree fashioned a fine success for Tipperary but it was another deeply disappointing night for Cork hurling.

Scorers for Tipperary: Lyndon Fairbrother 0-10 (0-8f), Dylan Walsh 0-4, Cian Darcy, Brian McGrath (0-1f, 0-1 ’65) 0-2 each, Paddy Cadell, Ger Browne, Cian Flanagan, Rian Doody, Mark Kehoe 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Josh Beausang 1-7 (0-6f), Jack O’Connor 0-3, Evan Sheehan 0-2, Liam Healy, Matthew Bradley, Danny Gunning 0-1 each.


1. Ciarán Barrett (Clonmel Óg)

3. Michael Whelan (Carrick Davins)
2. Killian O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
5. Gavin Dunne (Holycross-Ballycahill)

4. Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
6. Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney – Captain)
7. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg)

8. Paddy Cadell (J.K. Brackens)
9. Ger Browne (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams)

10. Rian Doody (Cappawhite)
14. Colin English (Fr. Sheehy’s)
11. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

18. Eoin Barry (Killenaule)
15. Lyndon Fairbrother (J.K. Brackens)
12. Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs)


17. Cian Flanagan (Newport) for English (27)
22. Dylan Walsh (Ballingarry) for Barry (half-time)
19. Kieran Breen (Knockavilla Kickhams) for Dunne (33)
13. Shane Neville (Lattin Cullen) for Morris (46)
24. Conor Stakelum (Thurles Sarsfields) for Doody (60)


1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Paul Lyons (Mallow)
3. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons – Captain)
4. Darragh Guiney (Shandrum)

5. John Cooper (Éire Óg)
6. Sean O’Leary Hayes (Midleton)
7. Eoghan Clifford (Cloughduv)

8. Liam Healy Sarsfield
9. Cian O’Mahony (Ballinhassig)

10. Stephen Condon (Harbour Rovers)
11. Matthew Bradley (Aghabullogue)
12. Tadhg Deasy (Blackrock)

13. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields)
15. Danny Gunning (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Josh Beausang (St Colman’s)


19. Ross Howell (Douglas) for Lyons (half-time)
21. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh) for Condon (half-time)
18. Jeremy Saich (Kilworth) for O’Mahony (41)
23. Brian Turnbull (Douglas) for Healy (49)
24. John Geary (Shandrum) for Gunning (58)

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

GAA President has his say on Christy Ring Cup score and Laois sub controversies

Limerick’s great hurling week continues as they defeat Waterford to reach Munster final

Your Voice
Readers Comments