JBM makes four changes for Cork's Waterford Crystal Cup exam at CIT

Conor O’Sullivan, Lorcan McLoughlin, Paudie O’Sullivan and Darren McCarthy will all start for the Rebels.

Paudie O'Sullivan comes in at full-forward for Cork for this weekend's quarter-final.
Paudie O'Sullivan comes in at full-forward for Cork for this weekend's quarter-final.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

CORK HURLING MANAGER Jimmy Barry-Murphy has added some extra experience to his team for Saturday’s Waterford Crystal Cup quarter-final against CIT at the CIT Sports Grounds in Bishopstown (2.00pm).

The Rebels booked their place in the next stage of the competition last Saturday when they had a 1-18 to 1-15 win over UL, and JBM has opted to make four changes in personnel to the side that started the game.

Damien Cahalane drops down to the bench to be replaced by Christopher Joyce, who’ll move from centre-back to full-back. Lorcan McLoughlin has been drafted in to wear the number six shirt. Sean O’Donoghue is on U21 Football duty this week, so his place at left-corner-back will be taken by Conor O’Sullivan.

In attack, Dayne Lee moves from left-corner to right-half-forward to replace Peter Kelleher. Darren McCarthy comes in at 15, with Paudie O’Sullivan starting at full-forward at the expense of Luke O’Farrell.

Cork also have plenty of options in reserve, as the likes of Daniel Kearney, Patrick Cronin and Patrick Horgan have all been named among the substitutes. The winners of Saturday’s game will secure a semi-final meeting with Clare or Tipperary, who play on Sunday.


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. William Kearney (Sarsfields)
3. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
4. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)

5. Brian O’Sullivan (Fermoy)
6. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)
7. Glen O’Connor (St.Finbarrs)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

8. Brian Murray (Bishopstown)
9. Paul Haughney (Midleton)

10. Dayne Lee (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Andy Walsh (Killeagh)
12. Alan Frahill O’Connor (Youghal)

13. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
14. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
15. Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)

People just want to ‘have a pop at Geezer’ says Kevin Dyas

After 14 years and 49 SFC appearances, Donegal’s Rory Kavanagh has decided to retire

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next: