This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 21 February, 2020

All Black Crockett to skipper Barbarians against Pumas at Twickenham

There’s a South African flavour to the Barbarians XV this weekend.

Crockett won 71 caps for the All Blacks.
Crockett won 71 caps for the All Blacks.
Image: Getty Images

PROP WYATT CROCKETT will captain the Barbarians against Argentina in London this weekend, while South African trio Handre Pollard, Pieter-Steph du Toit and Schalk Brits have all been named in the XV.

Crockett, who won 71 caps with the All Blacks and was part of the squad that won the Rugby World Cup in 2015, announced his retirement from international rugby earlier this year but will lead out the Baa-Baas at Twickenham on Saturday.

Eight South Africans are in the starting line-up, including Damian de Allende, Aphiwe Dyantyi, Siya Kolisi, Pollard and Du Toit — all of whom started in the Springboks’ loss to Wales last weekend.

It will be just the third time the Barbarians have faced Argentina in their entire 128-year history, with each team winning one of the previous meetings.


15. Jack Debreczeni
14. Tommaso Benvenuti
13. Tom English
12. Damian de Allende
11. Aphiwe Dyantyi
10. Handre Pollard
9. Leon Fukofuka

1. Wyatt Crockett
2. Schalk Brits
3. Trevor Nyakane
4. Luke Jones
5. Lood de Jager
6. Siya Kolisi
7. Pieter-Steph du Toit
8. Juan Manuel Leguizamon.


16. Steven Kitshoff
17. Malcolm Marx
18. Anton Peikrishvili
19. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
20. Jordan Taufua
21. Frank Lomani
22. Jesse Kriel
23. Elton Jantjies.

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel