Tommy Grealy/INPHO
King Con

Con O'Callaghan caps special weekend with 1-3 in Cuala's win over Dicksboro

O’Callaghan picked up an All-Star and Young Footballer of the Year on Friday night.

Cuala 2-20

Dicksboro 1-16

Paul Keane reports from Parnell Park

NEWLY CROWNED FOOTBALL All-Star Con O’Callaghan capped a special weekend with a thrilling display for Cuala who advanced to the last four of the AIB Leinster club SHC.

The All-Ireland title holders had too much for the Kilkenny champions and dual star O’Callaghan was particularly effective with 1-3 at Parnell Park.

He had a direct involvement in around 2-8 in total in the provincial quarter-final win including creating the Dublin champions’ first goal which was scored by Jake Malone.

O’Callaghan was also named Young Footballer of the Year on Friday evening but clearly didn’t spend too long celebrating as he impressed from the off.

Dicksboro used three different players on the Dublin football hero throughout the encounter including Kilkenny star Cillian Buckley.

David Treacy also impressed for Mattie Kenny’s Cuala, scoring nine points and helping to propel the Dalkey side to a November 19 semi-final showdown with Wexford’s St Martin’s.

Cuala were missing key forward Mark Schutte who watched the game from the main stand with a protective boot on his left ankle.

Colm Cronin with Michael Fagan Tommy Grealy / INPHO Tommy Grealy / INPHO / INPHO

Nicky Kenny replaced him and scored a first-half point though O’Callaghan was their biggest threat and fired a ninth minute shot just wide of the upright.

He took off on another solo run in the 16th minute and when his shot was only partially cleared, Malone nipped in to volley home for the opening goal.

That put Cuala 1-4 to 0-2 ahead though the sides shared 12 points evenly in the second quarter of the game to leave Cuala 1-10 to 0-8 ahead at half-time.

David Treacy wins a high ball Tommy Grealy / INPHO Tommy Grealy / INPHO / INPHO

Dicksboro, crowned Kilkenny champions for the first time since 1993, got the deficit down to four points early in the second-half with a Robbie Murphy point.

But Cuala’s second goal, a 45th minute tap-in from close range for O’Callaghan after good work down the left by Kenny, Sean Treacy and Malone, put them 2-14 to 0-12 clear.

Dicksboro pulled back a goal in the 57th minute through substitute Stephen Farrell but they couldn’t get any closer than five points to Cuala in the run-in.

dasdass TG4 TG4

Scorers for Cuala: David Treacy 0-9 (0-8f), Con O’Callaghan 1-3, Jake Malone 1-0, Colm Cronin 0-3, Nicky Kenny, Niall Carty 0-2 each, Darragh O’Connell 0-1

Scorers for Dicksboro: Shane Stapleton 0-8 (0-5f, 3 65s), Stephen Farrell 1-0, Oisin Gough, Eoin Gough, Robbie Murphy 0-2 each, Martin Gaffney, Ollie Walsh 0-1 each.


1. Sean Brennan

2. Simon Timlin
3. Cian O’Callaghan
4. Oisin Gough

7. Paul Schutte
6. Sean Moran
5. John Sheanon

9. Darragh O’Connell
10. Sean Treacy

13. Colum Sheanon
12. David Treacy
8. Jake Malone

21. Nicky Kenny
14. Con O’Callaghan
11. Colm Cronin

20. Niall Carty for Kenny (53)
19. Cian Waldron for C Sheanon (55)


1. Darragh Holohan

4. Michael Fagan
3. Evan Cody
2. Conor Doheny

5. Thomas Kenny
6. Cillian Buckley
7. Aidan Nolan

8. Ollie Walsh
9. Robbie Fitzpatrick

11. Shane Stapleton
10. Eoin Gough
13. Robbie Murphy

12. Oisin Gough
14. Martin Gaffney
15.​ Bill Sheehan

20. Stephen Farrell for E Gough (44)
19. Kevin Kenny for Murphy (44)
24. Paul O’Flynn for Nolan (55)

Referee: Patrick Murphy (Carlow).


Elsewhere in the Leinster club hurling quarter-finals, Mount Leinster Rangers needed a strong finish to see off Camross on a scoreline of 0-19 to 0-13.

The Carlow champions led by 0-6 to 0-5 at half-time and were just a point in front heading into second-half stoppage time. MLR kicked on in the closing stages to put a gloss on the victory.

Offaly side Kilcormac/Killoughey had six points to spare over Castletown Geoghegan as they booked a last four spot in the province.

Kilcormac/Killoughey ran out 2-15 to 1-12 winners over the Westmeath champions, with Peter Healion and Dan Currams finding the net.

-Additional reporting by Kevin O’Brien

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Ronan Lynch helps himself to 15 points as Na Piarsaigh book 4th Munster final since 2011

After 8 games in 8 weeks, Ballygunner are into the Munster hurling final

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel