This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Friday 21 February, 2020

Derry defeat relegates Kildare to Division 2

Two late goals weren’t enough for Jason Ryan’s men.

Mark Lynch contributed 1-6 for Derry today.
Mark Lynch contributed 1-6 for Derry today.
Image: Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Derry 2-17

Kildare 3-9

KILDARE WILL PLAY their football in Division 2 of the Allianz National Football League next season after a five point defeat — combined with Westmeath’s loss to Kerry — at the hands of Derry this afternoon.

In truth, the margin of defeat flatters the Lillywhites after two late goals from Eamonn Callaghan and Tommy Moolick — when Derry’s thoughts may already have turned to next week’s crunch tie with Mayo — narrowed the gap between the teams.

The hosts started the game brilliantly, Emmett McGuckin and Mark Lynch pointing before Cailean O’Boyle’s goal ensured they had a five point lead in the opening minutes.

While Keith Cribbin’s fisted goal kept Kildare in the hunt, it would take Jason Ryan’s men 26 minutes before they scored their first point of the game, Cribbin once again the provider.

The Lillies added two more points before the break to ensure they only went in four points down at half-time on a scoreline of 1-7 to 1-3.

A black card for Gary White in the opening moments of the second half didn’t help Kildare’s cause and as Derry kicked point after point, Brian McIver’s men soon found themselves out of sight when Lynch’s goal made it 2-9 to 1-3 in their favour.

With Westmeath losing to Kerry in a game that ran about 10 minutes ahead of this one, Kildare knew their fate well before Callaghan and Moolick added their late consolations.

For Derry a win over Mayo next week could see them top the Division 1 table.

Scorers for Derry: Mark Lynch (1-6, 0-4f), Cailean O’Boyle (1-2), Enda Lynn, Emmett McGuckin (0-2 each), Benny Heron (0-2, 145), Sean Leo McGoldrick, Ciaran McFaul, Charlie Kielt (0-1 each).
Scorers for Kildare: Tommy Moolick (1-2), Keith Cribbin (1-1), Eamonn Callaghan (1-0), Fionn Dowling (0-2), Padraig O’Neil, Hugh Lynch, Michael Conway (0-1 each), John Doyle (0-1, 1f)

DERRY: Thomas Mallon; Gareth McKinless, Chrissy McKaigue, Dermot McBride; Kevin Johnston, Gerard O’Kane, Sean Leo McGoldrick; Fergal Doherty, Patsy Bradley; Ciaran McFaul, Mark Lynch, Enda Lynn; Benny Heron, Emmett McGuckin, Cailean O’Boyle.

Subs: James Kielt for Doherty, Aaron Devlin for J Kielt, Aidan McAlynn for McKinless, Charlie Kielt for Johnston, Ciaran McGoldrick for O’Boyle, Oisin Duffy for McBride.

KILDARE: Shane Connolly; Mick O’Grady, Michael Foley, David Hyland; Hugh McGrillen, Gary White, Keith Cribbin; Tommy Moolick, Hugh Lynch; Cathal McNally, Mikey Conway, Eoghan O’Flaherty; Paddy Brophy, Tomás O’Connor, Darroch Mulhall.

Subs: Fionn Dowling for Mulhall, Peter Kelly for White (black card), John Doyle for O’Connor, Padraig O’Neill for Conway, Eamonn Callaghan for McGrillen.

Referee: Padraig Hughes (Armagh)

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel