Tuesday 31 January 2023 Dublin: 7°C
# starting XV
6 changes for Dublin after league final loss to Kerry for Leinster opener with Carlow
The sides meet in Portlaoise tomorrow night. / YouTube

Updated 22.00pm

DUBLIN HAVE RANG the changes in the wake of April’s league final defeat for tomorrow’s Leinster opener against a Carlow team that are unchanged from their opening round victory.

pjimage (1) INPHO Dublin boss Jim Gavin and Carlow manager Turlough O'Brien. INPHO

Dublin boss Jim Gavin has made six changes from the side that lost to Kerry and handed a first senior championship start to All-Ireland U21 winning joint captain Con O’Callaghan.

Jonny Cooper, Niall Scully and Jack McCaffrey come into the defence while there are starting spots in attack for Paul Mannion, Kevin McManamon and O’Callaghan.

There’s an interesting positional switch at midfield with James McCarthy now partnering Brian Fenton.

Darren Daly, Philly McMahon, Ciaran Reddin, Paddy Andrews, Bernard Brogan and Paul Flynn are the players who drop out of the Dublin starting side.

Carlow manager Turlough O’Brien has named an unchanged starting fifteen as they seek to build on that opening win in Leinster against Wexford.

Corner-forward Paul Broderick picked off 0-10 in that game while midfielder Brendan Murphy chipped in with 1-2.

Throw-in tomorrow evening in O’Moore Park in Portlaoise is 7pm.


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
4. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s)

5. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge-Street)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)

10. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
11. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s)
12. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)

13. Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


1. Craig Kearney (Palatine)

2. Chris Crowley (Palatine)
3. Shane Redmond (Tinryland)
4. Conor Lawlor (Palatine)

5. Danny Moran (Tinryland)
6. Daniel St Ledger (St Sylvester’s)
7. Gary Kelly (Mount Leinster Rangers)

8. Brendan Murphy (Rathvilly)
9. Séan Murphy (Fenagh)

10. Eoghan Ruth (Éire Óg)
11. Darragh Foley (Kilbride – captain)
12. Alan Kelly (Rathvilly)

13. Paul Broderick (Tinryland)
14. Ciarán Moran (Palatine)
15. John Murphy (Grange)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Two starting debutants in Meath team as Louth unchanged for Leinster quarter-final

‘They do look flawless. They’re winning All-Irelands year in year out’

Your Voice
Readers Comments