Dublin: 15°C Tuesday 3 August 2021


52,997 Views 54 Comments

Dublin 0-19 Carlow 0-7 – FT


Good evening and welcome to O’Moore Park for today’s Leinster SFC quarter-final between Dublin and Carlow.

Here’s how the teams are named to start:


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
4. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s)

5. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge-Street)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)

10. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
11. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s)
12. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)

13. Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)


1. Craig Kearney (Palatine)

2. Chris Crowley (Palatine)
3. Shane Redmond (Tinryland)
4. Conor Lawlor (Palatine)

5. Danny Moran (Tinryland)
6. Daniel St Ledger (St Sylvester’s)
7. Gary Kelly (Mount Leinster Rangers)

8. Brendan Murphy (Rathvilly)
9. Séan Murphy (Fenagh)

10. Eoghan Ruth (Éire Óg)
11. Darragh Foley (Kilbride – captain)
12. Alan Kelly (Rathvilly)

13. Paul Broderick (Tinryland)
14. Ciarán Moran (Palatine)
15. John Murphy (Grange)

Former Sky Blue hurler Mark Schutte (Cuala) and All-Ireland U21 winning defender Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna) are both included on the Dublin bench.

Dublin’s dominance is more pronounced in Leinster with 11 final victories in the past 12 years and it all contributes to the considerable task facing Carlow.

But Carlow boss Turlough O’Brien passionately objects to that line of thinking.

Source: The42.ie/YouTube

We’re underway!

Dublin 0-0 Carlow 0-1

1 min – Brendan Murphy sends Carlow into the lead. Good move by Carlow.

Carlow are gone ultra-ultra defensive. They’re dropping 14 men behind the ball and looking to keep things tight.

3 mins – Dean Rock swings over a free to level us up.

5 mins – Rock doubles his tally with a second free.

7 mins – Paul Broderick sends a free wide from the right side of the goals. Carlow need to take chances like that.

James McCarthy is playing wing-back with Ciaran Kilkenny at midfield and Niall Scully wing-forward.

Dublin 0-2 Carlow 0-2

9 mins – Wonderful free from distance by Broderick brings Carlow level.

Carlow are leaving Paul Broderick at full-forward on his own and have Darragh Foley holding his shape at centre-forward. The rest of their players are dropping right back into defence.

Dublin 0-3 Carlow 0-2

12 mins – Clontarf’s Jack McCaffrey sneaks up the pitch and finds a hole to send Dublin back in front.

Dublin 0-4 Carlow 0-2

14 mins – Rock’s third free flies between the posts.

Dublin 0-5 Carlow 0-2

15 mins – Dublin are finding their groove now. Rock hand passes to Paul Mannion who slots it over.

Dublin 0-6 Carlow 0-2

18 mins – Jack McCaffrey shows good strength to burst forward and curl it over off his left.

Dublin 0-6 Carlow 0-3

25 mins – Sean Murphy breaks through and kicks a fine score from outside the right. The crowd loved it.

Dublin 0-7 Carlow 0-3

27 mins – Dublin switch the attack and McCaffrey feeds Scully who scores.

Dublin 0-7 Carlow 0-4

33 mins – Sean Murphy has electrifying pace and he wins a free that Broderick converts. That’s Carlow’s best method of attack.

Attendance today in O’Moore Park is 13,238.

Carlow are caught with a counter-attack but Kevin McManamon hits a wide from right in front of the posts.

Dublin 0-8 Carlow 0-4

35 mins – Ciaran Kilkenny wings over a score to put the champions four in front. McCaffrey received some treatment for a leg injury but he’s alright to continue.

Dublin 0-8 Carlow 0-5

35+1 min – A huge free from Darragh Foley leaves us at a three-point game at half-time.

Carlow stayed on the field for a quick huddle before heading into the dressing room for the half-time break.

The Dubs are back out on the field but Carlow leave them waiting.

The second-half is underway. It looks like it’s going to spill rain here as all the players called for gloves before the ball was thrown-in.

CHANCE! Kevin McManamon flashes a goal chance wide at the near post.

Dublin 0-8 Carlow 0-5

40 mins – McCarthy is fouled but Rock puts the free wide. Not what you’d expect from the Ballymun forward.

Alan Kelly is being replaced by Mark Rennick. Kelly was yellow carded moments ago.

Dublin 0-9 Carlow 0-5

42 mins – Rock makes amends with a converted free.

Dublin 0-9 Carlow 0-6

44 mins – Danny Moran kicks a fine score to reduce the gap to three again. It’s a three point game once again!

Dublin 0-10 Carlow 0-6

45 mins – Rock restores the four point lead almost immediately.

Bernard Brogan comes in for Kevin McManamon.

Brendan Murphy was involved in an off-the-ball tussle with Jonny Cooper but he gets away with it.

RED CARD! The referee consults with the linesman under the stand and gives Murphy a second yellow. Carlow have to do battle without their talisman for the last 22 minutes.

Dublin 0-10 Carlow 0-6

50 mins – Rock sends over another free.

Dublin 0-12 Carlow 0-6

51 mins – Fenton to O’Callaghan to Kilkenny. Point.

Dublin 0-13 Carlow 0-6

55 mins – Bernard Brogan takes a good ball inside and takes his point.

Mark Schutte and Conor McHugh enter the fray for Dublin.

Dublin 0-14 Carlow 0-6

60 mins – O’Callaghan’s first score in championship for Dublin sends them eight in front.

Connolly gets a yellow for a high tackle. David Byrne replaces Cian O’Sullivan.

Dublin 0-15 Carlow 0-6

65 mins – Cuala’s O’Callaghan swings over his second free.

Dublin 0-15 Carlow 0-7

69 mins – Broderick kicks their second point of the half.

Dublin 0-16 Carlow 0-7

70 mins – Brogan swings one over off the left.

Dublin 0-17 Carlow 0-7

72 mins – McHugh curls over a great score.

Dublin 0-18 Carlow 0-7

73 mins – Lovely score from Kilkenny.

Dublin 0-19 Carlow 0-7

Connolly converts a 45.

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien