This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 25 April, 2019

Brogan brothers on song as Plunkett's and Ballyboden march on in Dublin

Raheny and Kilmacud Crokes bow out.

Bernard Brogan kicked 0-3 from play.
Bernard Brogan kicked 0-3 from play.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh 0-13

Raheny 1-5

ST OLIVER PLUNKETT’S/Eoghan Ruadh and Ballyboden St Enda’s advanced to the quarter-finals of the Dublin Senior Football Championship after overcoming Raheny and Kilmacud Crokes respectively in a Parnell Park double-header tonight.

The first tie of the evening was a sloppy affair with Plunkett’s doing enough to prevail by 0-13 to 1-5 against a Raheny team missing Dublin star Brian Fenton.

Bernard Brogan opened the scoring in the 1st minute and with Stephen Swords and Garreth Smith trading scores inside four minutes, both sides enjoyed enterprising starts.

However, some desperate shot selection from both sides prompted a scoreless period of sixteen minutes before Donal Ryan eventually restored parity in the 20th minute.

Raheny were handed a further boost two minutes later as Eoin Delaney burst through unopposed before releasing Gavin Ivory for a low finish past Luke Eglinton from six yards.

Plunkett’s bounced back well from that concession with Smith firing over a long-distance free before Alan Brogan added a quick-fire brace to leave the sides deadlocked at 0-5 to 1-2 at the break.

The sloppiness was maintained after the break but the quality of the Plunkett’s attack told in the final ten minutes as Smith, Bernard Brogan and Seán O’Connor saw them home by five points.

St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER scorers: G Smith 0-6 (1f), B Brogan 0-3, A Brogan 0-2, N Walsh (f), S O’Connor 0-1 each.

Raheny scorers: G Ivory 1-1 (0-1 ‘45’), D Ryan 0-2(1f), Stephen Swords, E Keogh 0-1 each.

St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER team: L Eglinton; R O’Connor, P Curtin, S McGuinness; J O’Donoghue, C Walsh, D Lally; R McConnell, C Dunleavy; S O’Connor, C McKeever, A Brogan; G Smith, B Brogan, N Walsh. Subs: C Gurn for Dunleavy (17), L Herron for N Walsh (56), D Brogan for O’Donoghue (58).

Raheny team: J Morgan; L O’Shea, R Real, C Gillen; Sean Swords, E Keogh, Stephen Swords; S Byrne, C Talty; B Talty, D Ryan, E Smith; B Howard, E Delaney, G Ivory. Subs: D Byrne for Gillen (half-time), G Bennett for B Talty (44), R Diffley for O’Shea (56).

Ref: Barry Tiernan (O’Dwyer’s)

Ballyboden St Enda’s 1-11

Kilmacud Crokes 0-10

The second tie was a clash between near neighbours Kilmacud Crokes and Ballyboden St Enda’s with Boden claiming a well deserved 1-11 to 0-10 victory.

Crokes opened up well through a brace of frees from Mark Vaughan with Boden taking a while to settle as they levelled matters by the end of the first quarter after points by Andrew Kerin and Ryan Basquel.

A fine solo score by Michael Darragh Macauley inched Boden a point clear but in another low-scoring affair, Dara Mullin’s second point of the night five minutes later ensured a 0-4 apiece stalemate at the interval.

Conal Keaney Conal Keaney was key for Ballyboden St Enda's.

A Brian Kavanagh free within two minutes of the restart handed Crokes the early initiative and the Longford player doubled his side’s lead with a sumptuous point from under the stand two minutes later as Kilmacud resumed in a positive fashion.

The curious encounter continued with both teams enjoy moments of dominance as St Enda’s levelled matters through Kerin and Basquel before Crokes pulled clear again after scoring inputs by substitutes Paul Mannion and David Campbell.

Back Ballyboden came with Conal Keaney and Kerin kicking excellent points from play and although Crokes inched ahead through Donal Ward, they paid the penalty in the 59th minute as Kerin calmly slotted home from the spot after Eoin Culligan’s foul on Sam Molony.

Ballyboden St Enda’s scorers: A Kerin 1-5 (1-0 pen, 0-2f), C Keaney, R Basquel 0-2 each, S O’Connor, M Macauley 0-1 each.

Kilmacud Crokes scorers: B Kavanagh 0-3 (2f), D Mullin, M Vaughan (2f) 0-2 each, D Ward, P Mannion (f), D Campbell 0-1 each.

Ballyboden St Enda’s team: P Durcan; B Dwan, S Hiney, S clayton; S O’Connor, D Nelson, A Waters; M Macauley, D O’Mahony; D O’Reilly, R Basquel, S Gibbons; C Basquel, C Keaney, A Kerin. Subs: D Davy for O’Reilly (25), S Molony for C Basquel (42), D McCabe for Gibbons (55).

Kilmacud Crokes team: D Nestor; E Culligan, Rory O’Carroll, R McGowan; D Ward, C O’Shea, K Nolan; C Dias, A Egan; P Burke, B Kavanagh, M Coughlan; M Vaughan, E Keating, D Mullin. Subs: P Mannion for Keating (42, BC), D Campbell for Coughlan and S Williams for Burke (46), L óg Ó hÉineacháin for Vaughan (56).

Ref: Gary McCormack (Naomh Barróg)

‘This whole thing has been about keeping her name alive, for the last 15 months’

12 superb scores from the U21 hurling championship

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Rónán Mac Lochlainn

Read next: