Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Monday 10 May 2021

7 goals in Walsh Cup clash tonight as Dublin triumph against UCD

Ger Cunningham saw his side get off to a winning start for 2016.

UCD's Colm Cronin and Dublin's Liam Rushe in action in tonight's game.
UCD's Colm Cronin and Dublin's Liam Rushe in action in tonight's game.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Dublin 4-15
UCD 3-12

Fintan O’Toole reports from Belfield

TWO GOALS APIECE from Paul Ryan and Eamon Dillon helped Dublin get off to a successful start for 2016 as they claimed victory in their Bord Na Móna Walsh Cup tie against UCD at Belfield tonight.

Dublin needed to haul themselves back from an interval deficit as UCD had forged a five-point lead at the midway mark.

Manager Ger Cunningham won’t have been too unhappy to see that the architects of his team’s downfall were Dublin panellists. Oisin O’Rorke struck a hat-trick of goals, reflective of his lively showing, while Colm Cronin chipped in with 0-3 and Cian O’Callaghan stood out in defence.

Ryan and Dillon had both crashed home terrific goals to leave Dublin ahead 2-4 to 1-2 by the 15th minute but UCD finished the opening period stronger. They stitched together 1-5 without reply between the 23rd and 31st minute, and were ahead 3-8 to 2-6 at the break.

But Dublin quickly wiped out that lead after the break with Ryan firing 1-2 in quick succession. The teams were locked together at 3-9 apiece midway through the second-half before Dublin stamped their authority on the game.

They reeled off five points without reply as Fiontan McGibb and Niall McMorrow both showed up well. Then Dillon pounced for their fourth goal in the 63rd minute as they ran out five-point victors.

Ger Cunningham Dublin manager Ger Cunningham Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Scorers for Dublin: Paul Ryan 2-7 (0-5f), Eamon Dillon 2-1, Niall McMorrow 0-3, Fiontan McGibb 0-2, Cian Mac Giolla Bhríde, Rian McBride 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCD: Oisin O’Rorke 3-2 (1-1f), Colm Cronin 0-3, Jack O’Connor 0-2 (0-1f), Padraic Guinan, Cian O’Callaghan, Jake Malone, Jack Griffin, James Maher 0-1 each.

A view during the game A general view of Belfield during last night's game. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


1. Conor Dooley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

2. Joey Boland (Na Fianna)
3. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
4. Oisín Gough (Cuala)

5. Ben Quinn (Crumlin)
6. Liam Rushe (St Pat’s, Palmerstown)
7. Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

8. Cian Mac Giolla Bhríde (St Vincent’s)
9. Darragh O’Connell (Cuala)

10. Rian McBride (St Vincent’s)
11. Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
12.. Eamonn Dillon (Nh Fionnbarra)

13. Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
14. Fíontán Mac Gibb (Setanta)
15. Chris Bennett (Faughs)

22. Rob Hardy (St Judes) for O’Connell h/t
18. David Treacy (Cuala) for Bennett (46)
21. Sean O’Reilly (Thomas Davis) for McBride (61)
20. Fionn O’Riain-Broinn (St Judes) for Durkin (61)

David Treacy and Sean Moran after the game Dublin's David Treacy and UCD's Sean Moran after the game. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


1. Darragh Holohan (Dicksboro, Kilkenny)

2. Pat Hannon (Athenry, Galway)
3. Sean Murphy (Buffers Alley, Wexford)
4. James Madden (Ballyboden St-Enda’s, Dublin)

5. Conor Devitt (Ballyfad, Wexford)
6. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala, Dublin)
7. Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s, Wexford)

8. Jake Malone (Cuala, Dublin)
9. Jack Mullaney (Stradbally, Waterford)

10. James Maher (St Lachtain’s, Kilkenny)
12. Colm Cronin (Cuala, Dublin)
11. Padraic Guinan (Drumcullen, Offaly)

15. Tom Phelan (Conahy Shamrocks, Kilkenny)
14. Oisin O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)
13. Cathal Keane (Athenry, Galway)

18. Cian MacGabhann (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin) for O’Connor (40)
28. Sean Moran (Cuala, Dublin) for Devitt (48)
17. Eoin Conroy (Naomh Eanna, Wexford) for Madden (52)
21. JJ Ryan (Clonakenny, Wexford) for Mullaney (52)
23. Jack Griffin (Dungourney, Cork) for Maher (60)

Referee: Michael Murtagh (Westmeath)

Cork hurlers and footballers ring the changes for this weekend’s fixtures

‘I don’t expect red carpets rolled out for me’ – the groundbreaking female GAA referee

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: