Dublin in action in last year's Leinster minor hurling championship. Ryan Byrne/INPHO
boys in blue

Dublin unveil minor hurling side to face Wexford in Leinster opener

The sides meet on Sunday at 3pm in Piercestown.

DUBLIN HAVE ANNOUNCED their minor hurling side to face Wexford in next Sunday afternoon’s Leinster opener.

Dublin, who exited the provincial championship at the semi-final stage against Kilkenny last June, have included six members of the team that started in that game.

Goalkeeper Jonathan Treacy, full-back Jake Malone, centre-back Shane Barrett, midfielder Rian McBride, wing-forward Con O’Callaghan and corner-forward Sean Ryan are the survivors.

Wing-forward Sean Grey and centre-forward Eoghan McHugh both came on as substitutes in that minor loss to Kilkenny last summer. Both McBride and O’Callaghan won Leinster senior football colleges medals with Coláiste Eoin Stillorgan this year.

Throw-in on Sunday in Piercestown at 3pm.

DUBLIN: Jonathan Treacy (Na Fianna); Mark McCallion (Kilmacud Crokes), Jake Malone (Cuala), Darragh Butler (Kilmacud Crokes); Shane Howard (Fingallians), Shane Barrett (Na Fianna), Paul O’Dea (Na Fianna); Rian McBride (St Vincent’s), Dónal Burke (Na Fianna); Seán Grey (Whitehall Colmcille), Eoghan McHugh (Na Fianna), Con O’Callaghan (Cuala); Eoin Ó Conghaile (Lucan Sarsfields), Matthew Oliver (Na Fianna), Seán Ryan (Na Fianna).

Subs: Tadhg Murphy (Kilmacud Crokes), Tom Fox (Kilmacud Crokes), Darragh Kelly (Ratoath), Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s), Paddy Spellacy (Whitehall Colmcille), Chris Bennett (Faughs), Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes), Gavin King (Na Fianna), Mark Maguire (St Jude’s).

Cork fire home five goals and prove too strong for Kerry in Munster minor hurling opener

Rousing late comeback sees Waterford advance past Clare in Munster minors

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.