Ryan Byrne/INPHO Chris Bennett chipped in with a point for Dublin.
# skin of their teeth
Dublin sub Eoin O Conghaile proves injury time hero against Wexford
The Dubs’ minor hurlers reached the Leinster MHC final after a narrow win at Parnell Park.

Dublin 0-17

Wexford 0-16

SUBSTITUTE EOIN O CONGHAILE crowned a dramatic Dublin comeback with an injury-time winner to secure their Leinster minor hurling final place.

A perfect 10 points from Wexford free-taker Joe Coleman left the visitors two ahead with as many minutes remaining at Parnell Park. But three Dublin points in a row including two from inspirational sub O Conghaile sealed their place in the 6 July final.

O Conghaile’s first came in the 59th minute and was followed by a raking Rian McBride score from distance. He then took centre stage with a point from a tight angle on the left wing to win it.

Dublin were bidding for their fourth final place in five seasons having last won the title in 2012 with a four-point win over Wexford. As for Wexford, they last came out on top in their province way back in 1985. Larry Coleman’s Wexford took a deserved two-point lead into the interval.

Free-taker Coleman led the early scoring with five first-half points and they were 0-9 to 0-7 up after the half hour. Sean Gray was Dublin’s chief marksman with four first-half points and seven in total.

Wexford twice led by three points in the second-half but four missed frees by Coleman in a row cost them dearly. Dublin pounced at the death, however, with those crucial scores from O Conghaile and McBride.

Scorers for Dublin: Sean Gray 0-7 (0-7f), Rian McBride 0-3, Eoghan McHugh 0-2, Eoin O Conghaile 0-2, Chris Bennett 0-1, Con O’Callaghan 0-1, Eoin Conroy 0-1.Scorers for Wexford: Joe Coleman 0-10 (10f), Darragh Pepper 0-2, Sam Kelly 0-1, Jake Firman 0-1, Cathal Dunbar 0-1, Ben Edwards 0-1.


1. Darragh Hughes (Naomh Eanna)
2. Ben Edwards (Rapparees)
3. Michael O’Brien (St Pat’s)
4. Conor Firman (St Martin’s)
5. Naomhan Rossiter (St Mary’s, Rosslare)
6. Aaron Maddock (St Martin’s)
7. Rowan White (Glynn/Barntown)
8. Cathal Dunbar (Ballygarret)
9. Jake Firman (St Martin’s)
12 Niall Hughes (Ballyfad)
10. Joe O’Connor (St Martin’s)
15. Sam Kelly (Crossabeg/Ballymurn)
11. Daire Barden (St Mogues Fethard)
14. Joe Coleman (St Martin’s)
13. Darragh Pepper (Rapparees)

17. Matthew Joyce (Glynn/Barntown) for Hughes (41)
23. Cormac O’Mordha (Ballygarret) for Barden (56)

1. Jonathan Tracey (Na Fianna)
2. Mark McCallion (Kilmacud Crokes)
3. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)
4. Darragh Butler (Kilmacud Crokes)
5. Shane Howard (Fingal)
6. Jake Malone (Cuala)
7. Paul O’Dea (Na Fianna)
8. Donal Burke (Na Fianna)
9. Rian McBride (St Vincent’s)
12. Chris Bennett (Faughs)
11. Eoghan McHugh (Na Fianna)
14. Sean Ryan (Na Fianna)
13. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
10. Sean Gray (Whitehall Colmcilles)
15. Matthew Oliver (Na Fianna)

24. Eoin Conroy (St Maur’s) for Oliver (40)
20. Eoin O Conghaile (Lucan Sarsfields) for Bennett (47)
19. Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s) for Burke (54)
22. Fergal de Fuitligh (Kilmacud Crokes) for Ryan (59)

Referee: M O’Sullivan (Kilkenny).

Clare and Tipperary amongst the teams in Monday’s All-Ireland hurling qualifier draw

Galway bring Smith and Flynn into hurling side for Leinster semi-final against Kilkenny

Your Voice
Readers Comments