Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Sunday 16 May 2021

Back in blue: Cullen and Cluxton return for Dubs' NYE clash

The annual Dubs Stars games take place tomorrow evening at Round Towers’ grounds in Clondalkin.

Cluxton: looks set to return for another season in 2014.
Cluxton: looks set to return for another season in 2014.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

BRYAN CULLEN AND Stephen Cluxton will both line out for Dublin against the Dubs Stars, pointing towards their likely return for another season.

There was speculation that Cullen, 29, and Cluxton, 32, might retire after winning their second All-Ireland title in 2013.

But Jim Gavin has picked the veterans for the New Year’s Eve clash, the strongest indication yet that they will carry on in the new year.

All-Ireland winners Jack McCaffrey, Ciaran Kilkenny and Paul Mannion also start the festive fixture against the stars of the Dublin club championship.

The double-header will be played this year at Round Towers’ newly-developed grounds at Monastery Road, Clondalkin with the hurlers in action at 5pm before the football at 7pm.

Barry Connolly, son of Galway legend Joe, starts at wing-forward for Anthony Daly’s hurlers with Peter Kelly, Johnny McCaffrey, Conal Keaney and Paul Ryan all named in the Dubs Stars side.

Dublin SH: Stephen Chester (Craobh Chiaráin); Simon Timlin (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala), Conor McCormack (Ballyboden St Enda’s); Stephen Hiney (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Michael Carton (O’Toole’s), Mathew McCaffrey (Lucan); Kevin Byrne (Crumlin), Martin Quilty (Na Fianna); Barry Connolly (Cuala), Ryan O’Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes), Seán McGrath (Kilmacud Crokes); David O’Callaghan (St Mark’s), David Treacy (Cuala), Mark Schutte (Cuala).

Substitutes: Joey Boland (Na Fianna), Niall Corcoran (Kilmacud Crokes), Colm Cronin (Cuala), Chris Crummey (Lucan), Tom Devlin (St Jude’s), Eamon Dillon (Nh Fionnbarra), Donal Gormley (Ballinteer St John’s), Seán McClelland (Lucan), Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille), Liam Rushe (St Pat’s, Palmerstown), Paul Schutte (Cuala), Danny Sutcliffe (St Jude’s), Ruairí Trainor (St Vincent’s), Glen Whelan (Ballinteer St John’s).

Dub Stars Hurling: Gary Maguire (Ballyboden St Enda’s); Stephen O’Connor (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Peter Kelly (Lucan Sarsfields), Jack Doughan (Kilmacud Crokes); Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Robbie Lambert (Lucan Sarsfields), Conor Robinson (Ballyboden St Enda’s); Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Johnny McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields); Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Shane Stapleton (St Patrick’s, Palmerstown), Paul Winters (St Brigid’s); Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Alan McCrabbe (Craobh Chiarain), Adam McGreal (Crumlin).

Substitutes: Alan Nolan (St Brigid’s), Cormac O’Brien (Ballinter St John’s), Darren Kelly (Craobh Chiaráin), Robbie Mahon (Craobh Chiaráin), Shane Ryan (Crumlin), Aidan Roche (Lucan Sarsfields), Kevin O’Reilly (Lucan Sarsfields).

Dublin SF: Stephen Cluxton (Parnell’s); David Byrne (Naomh Olaf), Kevin O’Brien (Naomh Mearnóg), Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala); Nicky Devereux (Ballinteer St John’s), Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps), Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf); Declan O’Mahony (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Shane Carthy (Naomh Mearnóg); Conor Walsh (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh), Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock), Jason Whelan (Ballymun Kickhams); Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes), Ciarán Reddin (St Maur’s), Philip Ryan (St Brigid’s).

Dub Stars Football: Michael Savage (St Vincent’s); Seán George (Ballymun Kickhams), Robbie McDaid (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Hugh Gill (St Vincent’s); Alan Hubbard (Ballymun Kickhams), Chris Guckian (St Jude’s), Michael Concarr (St Vincent’s); Davy Byrne (Ballymun Kickhams), James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams); Gavin Burke (St Vincent’s), Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s), Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams); Eugene Keating (St Sylvester’s), Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s), Tomás Quinn (St Vincent’s).

Substitutes: Seán Currie (Ballymun Kickhams), Jarlath Curley (St Vincent’s), Gavin McArdle (St Sylvester’s), Ross McConnell (St Oliver Plunkett/Eoghan Ruadh), Ryan Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Ciarán Dorney (St Vincent’s), Mark Vaughan (Kilmacud Crokes).

23 photos from Dublin’s brilliant football year

Dublin and Kerry goalfest voted 2013’s best sports match

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: