Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 7°C
©INPHO/James Crombie Noel McGrath celebrates his goal against Galway last weekend.
# Starting XVs
GAA throw-in: here's how they'll line out in the National Hurling League this weekend
There are so many changes to the teams, you’ll be glad we collected them all in one place for you.

JIMMY BARRY-MURPHY has made four changes as Cork’s hurlers look to extend their 100% start to the NHL Division 1A season with a win against Galway in Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday.

Ben O’Connor’s sudden decision to announce his inter-county retirement yesterday opens up a space at corner-forward which is filled by Jamie Coughlan, while Lorcán McLoughlin is picked to partner Seán Óg Ó hAilpín in midfield.

At the back, Damien Cahalane comes in for the injured Stephen McDonnell at full-back. Dual star Eoin Cadogan lines out with the Cork footballers against Kerry in the second part of Sunday’s double-header, so William Egan replaces him at wing-back.

Galway’s starting XV shows two changes from the side which narrowly lost to Tipperary last weekend. Loughrea defender Johnny Coen replaces Joseph Cooney at wing-back, with Andy Smith lining out alongside David Burke in midfield.

Cork: D Óg Cusack; S O’Neill, D Cahalane, B Murphy; T Kenny, J Gardiner, W Egan; L McLoughlin, S Ó hAilpín; C Lehane, P Cronin, C Naughton; P Horgan, P O’Sullivan, J Coughlan.
Galway: J Skehill; D Connolly, D Collins, G O’Halloran; N Donohue, F Moore, J Coen; D Burke, A Smyth; C Cooney, N Burke, I Tannian; D Hayes, J Regan, B Burke.


Portroe stopper Darren Gleeson starts for Tipperary against Waterford on Sunday, one of two changes made by Premier boss Declan Ryan to the side which held off Galway last weekend.

Johnny Ryan is handed his first start in the blue and gold at wing-forward, where he replaces Shane McGrath. Ryan will be among family on his big day, with first cousin Pa Bourke lining out on the opposite wing in the number 12 jersey.

Tipperary: D Gleeson; D Maher, P Curran, M Cahill; J O’Keeffe, C O’Mahony, Padraic Maher; B Maher, J Woodlock; J Ryan, N McGrath, P Bourke; J O’Neill, B O’Meara, S Bourke.

Waterford: TBA


Liam Dunne has made seven changes to the Wexford side to face Limerick in Division 1B as he looks to build on last weekend’s snatch-and-grab win against Clare.

In goal, Niall Breen replaces Énna Martin and there are three further changes in the back-lines with James Tonks coming in for Bobby Kenny at corner-back, Matthew O’Hanlon replacing John Leacy at half-back and Darren Stamp returning from injury to take his place at wing-back.

Up front, Jim Berry comes in for his Harriers team-mate Richie Kehoe at wing-forward, and Rory Jacob and Stephen Banville lead the full-forward line in place of Tomás O’Leary and Garrett Sinnott.

Limerick boss John Allen has shown faith in the same starting XV which scored the Treaty’s first league win of the season against Laois last weekend.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Wexford: N Breen; J Tonks, K Rossiter, B Kehoe; D Stamp, M O’Hanlon, C Kenny; H Kehoe, D Redmond; J Berry, E Quigley, PJ Nolan; R Jacob, S Banville, D O’Keeffe.

Limerick: N Quaid; S Walsh, R McCarthy, T Condon; W McNamara, D O’Grady, G Mahony; J Ryan, P Browne; S Dowling, D Breen, C Allis; G Mulcahy, N Moran, M Ryan.


Antrim will be without goalkeeper Chris O’Connell for Sunday’s Division 1B game against Offaly in Tullamore.

O’Connell is in action with Loughgiel Shamrocks in the All-Ireland club senior hurling final tomorrow, and is replaced by Senan McToal between the posts.

McToal’s inclusion is one of three changes to the side which lost to Clare last weekend. Darren Hamill and Sean McLoughlin start in the half-forward line, with Conor McCann and KB McShane missing out.

Offaly: TBA

Antrim : S McToal; A Graffin, C Donnelly, K McGourty; N McAuley, N McManus, S McCrory; K Stewart, M Gettens; S McLaughlin, M Herron, D Hamill; PJ O’Connell, C McFall, S McNaughton.

National Hurling League fixtures (Sunday, 2.30pm unless stated)

Division 1A:

  • Cork v Galway (Sunday, 12.45pm)
  • Kilkenny v Dublin
  • Tipperary v Waterford

Division 1B:

  • Laois v Clare (Sunday, 12.45pm)
  • Offaly v Antrim
  • Wexford v Limerick

Division 2A:

  • Down v Derry (Sunday, 12.45pm)
  • Wicklow v Kerry
  • Carlow v Westmeath

Division 2B:

  • Armagh v Mayo
  • Roscommon v Kildare

Division 3A:

  • Monaghan v Louth
  • Fingal v Tyrone
  • Donegal v Sligo

Division 3B:

  • Longford v Leitrim

Are you ready for the weekend? Here’s your National Football League team news

Tributes paid to O’Connor as Cork forward bows out