Free-scoring Shane Maloney is in a free-scoring Galway full-forward line. Cathal Noonan/INPHO
History in the making

2011 All-Ireland minor hero in historic Galway intermediate hurling team

Shane Maloney is a familiar face in the Tribesmen’s line-up.

SHANE MALONEY WAS the star of Galway’s 2011 All-Ireland minor hurling final victory over Dublin.

Maloney scored 1-9 at Croke Park against the Sky Blues and lifted the Irish Press Cup as captain.

Tomorrow, the Tynagh Abbey/Duniry hitman will form one-third of a potentially lethal inside line as Galway line out in a Leinster intermediate hurling final for the very first time.

Their opponents at O’Moore Park in Portlaoise are Wexford and Galway can call upon not only Maloney from that 2011 crop, but also Adrian Tuohy, Dean Higgins and Paul Flaherty.

Another familiar face in the Galway line-up is goalkeeper James Skehill, who has fallen behind Colm Callanan in the pecking order at senior level.

Shane Maloney lifts the cup Shane Maloney was Galway's All-Ireland minor winning captain in 2011. Lorraine O'Sullivan / INPHO Lorraine O'Sullivan / INPHO / INPHO

An unchanged team contains the red-hot inside line that blasted 3-15 of the 3-22 registered against Kilkenny in the provincial semi-final.

Brian Molloy, Conor Whelan and Maloney are in devastating form and will take some watching.


1 James Skehill

2 Colm Flynn
3 Darragh O’ Donoghue
4 Adrian Tuohy

5 Paul Flaherty
6 Darragh Burke
7 Shane Cooney

8 Kevin McHugo
9 Dean Higgins

10 Eamon Brannigan
11 James Regan
12 Eanna Burke

13 Brian Molloy
14 Conor Whelan
15 Shane Maloney

‘Moral victories aren’t any good to us, we want silverware on the board’

Just 2 senior hurling panellists on Clare U21 team for Munster semi-final

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.