Watch: Ireland's Euros dreams ended by Dutch in controversial penalty shootout loss

Troy Parrott scored a vital second-half equaliser to bring the game to spot kicks.

Ireland players dejected after losing the penalty shootout.
Ireland players dejected after losing the penalty shootout.
Image: Simon Stacpoole/INPHO

IRELAND U17S WERE dumped out of the European Championships at the quarter-final stage following a controversial 5-4 penalty shootout loss against the Netherlands in Chesterfield.

With the shootout at 4-4, on the last spot kick, Dutch player Daishawn Redan’s penalty was saved by Irish goalkeeper Jimmy Corcoran.

However, the referee felt Corcoran moved off his line before the kick was taken, and gave the goalkeeper a second yellow card, meaning centre-back Oisin McEntee had to go in goals for the re-taken penalty, which was scored by Redan.

The decision prompted angry scenes, with Ireland senior boss Martin O’Neill among those on hand to remonstrate with the officials.

A closely fought match had finished 1-1 after 80 minutes.

Liam Van Gelderen headed home a corner just after the hour mark to give the Netherlands a 1-0 advantage.

However, the Dutch lead was short-lived, as Tottenham youngster Troy Parrott fired home an equaliser moments later, after good work in the build-up from Barry Coffey, to ensure the game went to penalties.

It had been an immense effort from the Boys in Green. With the Dutch dominating possession and territory, O’Brien’s side were well organised, restricting the tournament favourites largely to half chances.

Captain Nathan Collins and McEntee both went close with headers in the second half, while Wouter Burger tested Corcoran with a long-range effort.

Ultimately, the sides could not be separated in normal time, before Adam Idah’s penalty miss proved costly, despite Parrott, Max Murphy, Jason Knight, and Callum Thompson all converting their respective spot kicks.

Nonetheless, more controversy ensued in the game’s aftermath, as there were also some claims that Dutch goalkeeper Joey Koorevaar was off his line when he saved Irish striker Idah’s earlier penalty in the shootout.

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

Republic of Ireland: Corcoran; Murphy, McEntee, Collins, Ledwidge; Coffey, Knight, Parrott; Wright (O’Reilly 80), Idah, Thompson.

Netherlands: Koorevaar; Q Maduro (Mamengi 80), Van Gelderen, J Maduro, Hendriks; Franken, Ihattaren, Burger; Summerville, Redan, Tavsan (Brobbey 51).

Referee: Zbynek Proske (Czech Republic).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Steven Gerrard makes first signing as Rangers manager>

Player ratings: how the Irish footballers in Britain fared in the 2017-18 season>

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel