This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 24 May, 2020

Last gasp victory for Ireland in World T20 Qualifier final

16-year old Lucy O’Reilly scored the winning run off the final ball of the innings.

Ireland after this victory this morning.
Ireland after this victory this morning.
Image: Cricket Ireland/Twitter

HAVING ALREADY SECURED their place in the World T20 tournament proper earlier this week, the Ireland Women’s cricket team won the Qualifier final against Bangladesh this morning.

Needing a single run off the final ball of the day to secure victory, thunder and lightning enveloped the ground during the final over to add to the drama.

However, 16-year old Lucy O’Reilly held her nerve to seal the win at the second time of asking after Bangladeshi bowler Salma Khatun tried to run out Laura Delany at the non-striker’s end before she bowled the final ball of the innings.

After a lengthy conversation between the umpires, Delany was ruled not out.

O’Reilly then made light work of the actual final delivery, driving the ball to mid-on to ensure a two-wicket win for Ireland.

Cecelia Joyce (32) and Clare Shillington (12) had given Ireland a great chance of victory by hitting 24 from the first two overs in response to Bangladesh’s 105.

However, after wickets fell at regular intervals throughout the run chase, it was left to Delany (26 not out) and O’Reilly (2 not out) to finish the job.

Earlier, Ciara Metcalfe took three Bangladeshi wickets for just 14 runs, a bowling performance that played a huge role in the Irish win.

Leinster game at risk as Storm Desmond plays havoc with this weekend’s sport

India, here we come! Ireland have qualified for the Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: