Dublin: 12°C Sunday 1 August 2021

Naoupu joins Ireland Women's Sevens squad as Galvin misses Atlanta trip

Anthony Eddy has been able to call on Alison Miller for the World Series legs in Atlanta and Langford.

IRELAND SEVENS RUGBY director Anthony Eddy has added three Test players to his Sevens squad for next weekend’s tournament in Atlanta.

Sene Naoupu Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Sene Naoupu, who played all five of Ireland’s Six Nations fixtures this spring, has been added to the squad and will team up again with Alison Miller – whose pace makes her a star in both forms of the game for Ireland.

The third addition from Tom Tierney’s squad is Kim Flood. The former Dublin football half forward has travelled with the squad before, but will hope to make her international Sevens rugby debut when Ireland take on Canada, France and Russia in Pool B on Friday 8 April.

Jenny Murphy and Louise Galvin Sidelined: Jenny Murphy (left) and Louise Galvin will both miss the trans-Atlantic trip through injury. Source: Colm O'Neill/INPHO

While the news is positive for that US-bound trio, it’s bad for Louise Galvin. The Kerry woman has been a mainstay in the side since Eddy took over, but suffered a leg fracture in training and will miss the back-to-back World Rugby Sevens Series tournaments in Atlanta and then Langford (BC, Canada) on 16 April.

“While things didn’t go as we’d have liked in Sao Paulo, we’ll learn from those games and will look for better displays over the coming weeks,” Eddy says.

“The girls have been putting the work in at training, but now it is about putting that work into practice and getting some results from it.”

Ireland squad for World Rugby Sevens Series round 3 and 4:

Ashleigh Baxter – Belfast Harlequins / Ulster
Katie Fitzhenry – Blackrock College RFC / Leinster
Kim Flood – Railway Union / Leinster*
Stacey Flood – Railway Union / Leinster
Claire Keohane – UL Bohs / Munster
Alison Miller – Portlaoise / Connacht
Lucy Mulhall – Rathdrum / Leinster
Amee Leigh Murphy-Crowe – Railway Union / Munster
Sene Naoupu – Galwegians / Connacht
Audrey O’Flynn – Talent ID Programme
Hannah Tyrell – Old Belvedere / Leinster
Megan Williams – St.Mary’s College RFC

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

SBW, Honey Badger and France star Vakatawa all chasing 7s comebacks in Hong Kong

Payne named fullback as Ulster aim to scrap back in to Pro12 playoff spots

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: