This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Friday 15 November, 2019

Limerick's John the Baptist crowned All-Ireland schools hurling champions in Thurles

The Hospital-based school comfortably saw off their Belfast counterparts.

Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

John the Baptist CS (Hospital, Limerick) 2-14

St Mary’s CBGS (Belfast, Antrim) 1-8

Conor Kane reports from Semple Stadium, Thurles

A FIRST-HALF dominance led the way for John the Baptist Community School to emerge with the Paddy Buggy Cup at Thurles.

Goals by Eoin Sheehan and Ryan Tobin, the latter the last action of that opening period, put plenty of daylight between the Hospital-based school and their Belfast counterparts and that cushion proved enough to ensure victory.

Dylan O’Shea was reliable with the placed balls and there were some excellent performances around the Semple Stadium sward from the likes of centre-back Paul O’Heney, captain Paudie Maher and several forwards such as Sheehan and Tobin, always making things difficult for St Mary’s.

The Ulster side stuck gamely at trying to make a contest of it, all the same, and Darren Grego fired over a couple of nice points in the first half. However, a spell of wides in the opening quarter proved costly as it came just before John the Baptist’s most effective spell.

Tiarnan Murphy sent a close-range free straight to the net early in the second half to give the St Mary’s supporters something to cheer about and the same man added on three points while Shea Shannon also weighed in with a second half score to keep things competitive.

Scorers for St John the Baptist - Eoin Sheehan 1-2, Ryan Tobin 1-2, Dylan O’Shea 0-5 (4F), Michael O’Grady 0-2, Eoin O’Mahony 0-1, Paudie Maher 0-1, Seán Teefy 0-1.

Scorers for St Mary’s - Tiarnan Murphy 1-3 (1-2 F), Darren Grego 0-2, Shea Shannon 0-2, Gerard Smyth 0-1

John the Baptist CS

1. Bryan Heavey (Garryspillane)

2. Mark Quinlan (Garryspillane)
3. Conor Phipps (Emly)
4. Kyran O’Donnell (Pallasgreen)

7. Kevin Boner (Bruff)
6. Paul O’Heney (Emly)
5. Brian O’Grady (Kilteely/Dromkeen)

8. Michael O’Grady (Knockainey)
9. Dylan O’Shea (Garryspillane)

13. Tadhg Leddin (Hospital/Herbertstown)
14. Eoin Sheehan (Garryspillane)
10. Seán Teefy (Ballybricken/Bohermore)

15. Ryan Tobin (Garryspillane)
11. Paudie Maher (c, Patrickswell)
12. Eoin O’Mahony (Garryspillane).


Bradley McNamara (Bruff) for T Leddin (45m)
John O’Donnell (Pallasgreen) for E. Sheehan (55m)

St Mary’s CBGS

1. Philip Kennedy (O’Donavan Rossa)

4. Sean Wilson (St John’s)
3. Niall McCann (St Teresa’s )
2. Michael Napier (Bredagh)

7. Aodhan O’Brien (Gort Na Mona)
6. Nathan Gibson (Gort Na Mona)
5. Dominic McEnhill (O’Donavan Rossa)

8. CJ McKenna (c, St John’s )
9. Shea Shannon (St John’s)

12. Darren Grego (O’Donavan Rossa)
10. Gerard Smyth (Lámh Dearg)
14. Odhrán O’Callaghan (Carryduff)

13. Tiarnan Murphy (O’Donavan Rossa)
15. Paddy Doyle (St Paul’s)
11. Colm McLarnon (St Paul’s)


18. Aaron Bradley (St John’s) for O. O’Callaghan (40m)
Odhran McKenna (St John’s) for P. Doyle (60m)
Manus Smyth (O’Donavan Rossa) for S. Wilson (62m)

Referee: Gavin Quilty (Kilkenny)

Eamonn Fitzmaurice’s Chorca Dhuibhne lift All-Ireland junior A title after extra-time thriller

Tony Kelly back to captain Clare after All-Ireland heartbreak with Ballyea

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Conor Kane

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel