Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
# EirGridGAA
Three-goal Kerry clinch EirGrid Munster U20 title against battling Cork
Jack O’Connor’s side ran out six-point winners at Austin Stack Park.

LAST UPDATE | Jun 29th 2018, 9:55 PM

David Shaw celebrates scoring a goal Laszlo Geczo / INPHO Shaw: opening goal set Kerry on the road to victory. Laszlo Geczo / INPHO / INPHO

Kerry 3-11 Cork 0-14

KERRY WERE CROWNED the first-ever winners of the EirGrid Munster U20 Football Championship after a six-point win over a Cork side who fell victim to two well-timed goals in the second period.

Cork started very strongly, scoring the first three points in as many minutes, but Kerry were level by the ninth minute in a very open and fast start.

Mark Keane put Cork ahead once more before Fiachra Clifford found David Shaw with a high ball in the 13th minute and the Kerry forward turned and goaled instantly to put Kerry ahead for the first time at 1-3 to 0-4.

The visitors hit four consecutive points, three from Chris Óg Jones, to lead after 21 minutes by 0-8 to 1-3 before Kerry managed to go in level at the break thanks to a Fiachra Clifford free that made the interval score 1-6 to 0-9.

Tadhg Corkery tackled by Dara Moynihan and Fiachra Clifford Laszlo Geczo / INPHO Cork's Tadhg Corkery tackled by Dara Moynihan and Fiachra Clifford. Laszlo Geczo / INPHO / INPHO

A free from Jones put Cork back in front but with Kerry seemingly in a spot of bother, they retook the lead, Clifford the provider again as substitute Eddie Horan scored Kerry’s second goal not long after coming on.

Dara Moynihan’s black card saw another Kerry substitute make an impact with Sean O’Leary slotting over two key points. With the hosts in front by three Kerry were assured when team captain Donal O’Sullivan was fouled and Mark Ryan converted the resulting penalty in the 53rd minute.

Kevin O’Donovan was black carded for Cork as a result of the foul but despite Cork pushing hard to salvage matters, a Kerry defence which featured a man-of-the-match display by Stefan Okunbar held firm to book the Kingdom’s place in the All-Ireland semi-finals.

Scorers for Kerry: Donal O’Sullivan (0-4, 1f), David Shaw, Eddie Horan and Mark Ryan (p) (1-0 each), Cormac Linnane, Fiachra Clifford (1f) and Sean O’Leary (0-2 each), Graham O’Sullivan (0-1).
Scorers for Cork: Chris Óg Jones (0-7, 2f), Mark Keane and Colm O’Callaghan (0-2 each), Tadhg Corkery, Colm Barrett and Damien Gore (0-1).


1. Brian Lonergan (Ballymacelligott)

2. David Naughton (Dr Crokes)
3. Stefan Okunbar (Na Gaeil)
4. Micheál Reidy (Ballymacelligott)

5. Mike Breen (Beaufort)
6. Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses)
7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)

8. Mark Ryan (Rathmore)
9. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)

10. Fiachra Clifford (Laune Rangers)
11. Cormac Linnane (Beale)
12. Dara Moynihan (Spa)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

13. Donal O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan)
14. Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmets)
15. David Shaw (Dr Crokes)


18. Brian Friel (Rathmore) for Linnane (36)
20. Eddie Horan (Scartaglin) for Shaw (40)
21. Sean O’Leary (Kilcummin) for Moynihan (BC, 43)
23. Michael Potts (Dr Crokes) for Clifford (51)
22. Michéal Foley (Ballydonoghue) for O’Connor (57)
17. Cian Gammell (Killarney Legion) for Naughton (60 +2)


1. Ian Giltinan (Carraigaline)

2. Nathan Walsh (Douglas)
24. Sean Walsh (Mitchelstown)
4. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)

5. Liam O’Donovan (Clonakilty)
6. Aidan Browne (Newmarket)
7. Tom Lenihan (St Michaels)

8. Colm O’Callaghan (Eire Óg)
9. Mark Keane (Mitchelstown)

10. Maurice Shanley (Clonakilty)
11. Tadhg Corkery (Cill Na Martra)
12. Cathal Maguire (Castlehaven)

13. Colm Barrett (St Finbarrs)
14. Chris Óg Jones (Iveleary)
15. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)


18. Sean O’Sullivan (Mitchelstown) for Maguire (H/T)
23. Killian Myers-Murray (St Finbarrs) for Shanley (36)
21. Matthew Bradley (Aghabullogue) for Barrett (49)
22. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers) for Gore (49)
17. Alan McCarthy (St Finbarrs) for O’Donovan (BC, 54)
19. Liam Wall (Kilmurry) for Walsh (59)

Referee: Sean Lonergan (Tipperary)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Mickey Harte sticks to his guns as Tyrone name unchanged side for Cavan clash

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel