This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 14 December, 2018

Kerry progress to Munster ladies final after hammering Clare

William O’Sullivan’s side scored 8 goals en route to their win over the Banner County.

The Kerry team which won Division 2 in May (file photo).
The Kerry team which won Division 2 in May (file photo).
Image: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Kerry 8-25
Clare 1-10

WILLIAM O’SULLIVAN’S KERRY ran riot against a depleted Clare in Scartaglin on Saturday evening to book their place in next Saturday’s TG4 Munster ladies senior football championship final.

The Kingdom scored a massive 8-25 to 1-10 win against the Banner County to set up a showdown with provincial and All-Ireland champions Cork in Castletownroche.

Kerry have already beaten the Leesiders in this year’s Munster championship but to capture the silverware on offer, they must win again, and this time on Cork soil.

After six minutes of Saturday’s tie, Kerry and Clare were level at 1-1 apiece as Laura Rogers and Niamh O’Dea exchanged early goals.

But quickfire goals from Rogers and Margaret Fitzgerald put Kerry firmly in the driving seat and they led by 3-2 to 1-2 after ten minutes, and by 5-11 to 1-3 at half-time.

Clare were no match for a rampant Kerry as an administrative mix-up saw a number of their players book holidays.

And John Burke’s charges were outclassed by a ruthless Kerry, who inflicted a massive 36-point defeat on the visitors.

Patrice Dennehy and Louise Galvin added further goals before the break and there was no let-up in the second half as Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh, Deirdre Corridan and Fitzgerald netted.

Next weekend sees all four provincial finals down for decision.

In Ulster, Monaghan will meet Tyrone next Sunday at Celtic Park, with Mayo and Galway battling it out in the Connacht decider at Tuam Stadium.

On Saturday, Cork and Kerry collide in another Munster final and in Leinster, Meath will face Dublin at Dr. Cullen Park in Carlow.

In pics: Dublin hurlers win their first Leinster title in 52 years

Mourne men progress to Ulster hurling final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: