Tommy Walsh has been selected among the substitutes for their first league game in 2019. Cathal Noonan/INPHO
And The Team Is...

Walsh named on bench for Kerry league opener as Keane selects strong side for Tyrone clash

The Kingdom will host Tyrone at Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday.

PETER KEANE HAS named a number of experienced players in the Kerry side that will begin their Allianz League campaign against Tyrone on Sunday.

James O’Donoghue has been selected at corner-forward in a star-studded Kerry attack that includes Michael and Paul Geaney.

Sean O’Shea has also been selected to slot in at half-forward which offers Keane’s side another strong scoring outlet.

They also have Tommy Walsh to call upon as the Kerins O’Rahillys star takes his place on the bench. The 2009 All-Ireland winner returned to training with Kerry ahead of the 2019 campaign.

He featured for the county under Eamonn Fitzmaurice during the 2016 Allianz Football League. Walsh then dropped off the panel prior to that year’s championship, citing a lack of game-time as the reason for his departure. 

Peter Crowley will bring plenty of experience to the Kingdom’s defence along with Tadhg Morley, Paul Murphy and Tom O’Sullivan who make-up the half-back line. 

Throw-in for the clash with Tyrone at Fitzgerald Stadium is at 2pm.

2018 league finalists Galway have also named their team for their opening tie against Cavan on Sunday, with Shane Walsh selected to start at corner-forward.

Seán Andy Ó’Ceallaigh and Gareth Bradshaw are included in the full-back line while Thomas Flynn is named to start in midfield.

Kerry v Tyrone 

1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

2. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
3. Jack Sherwood (Firies)
4. Brian Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghaeltacht)

5. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
6. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)
7. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

8. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil)
9. Adrian Spillane (Templenoe)

10. Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion)
11. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)
12. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)

13. Michael Geaney (Dingle)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
15. James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion)

16. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)
17. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)
18. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe)
19. Dara Moynihan (Spa Killarney)
20. Graham O’Sullivan (Piarsaigh na Dromoda)
21. Tommy Walsh (Kerins O’Rahillys)
22. Gavin O’Brien (Kerins O’Rahillys)
23. Killian Spillane (Templenoe)
24. Tom Leo O’Sullivan (Dingle)
25. Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)
26. Robert Wharton (Renard)

Galway v Cavan

1. Ruairi Lavelle

2. Eoghan Kerin
3. Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh
4. David Wynne

5. Gary O’Donnell
6. Gareth Bradshaw
7. Sean Kelly

8. Thomas Flynn
9. Kieran Duggan

10. Fintan Cooney
11. Johnny Duane
12. Johnny Heaney

13. Danny Cummins
14. Eoin Finnerty
15. Shane Walsh

Just over a week out from the 2019 Six Nations openers, Murray Kinsella and Gavan Casey are joined by Bernard Jackman to look at Ireland’s bid for another Grand Slam:

The42 Rugby Weekly / SoundCloud

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel