There's no room for MDMA in Dublin's starting XV on Sunday. Donall Farmer/INPHO
Team news

One change apiece for Dublin and Kildare ahead of Leinster semi-final

Eoin Doyle comes in for injured Fergal Conway.

DUBLIN BOSS JIM Gavin has made one change to the starting XV that dismantled Longford so easily last time out as they get set to take on Kildare in the Leinster football semi-final on Sunday.

Denis Bastick, who was an injury worry for the Dubs, is the man to miss out in midfield with Cian O’Sullivan of Kilmacud Crokes taking his place alongside Brian Fenton.

Once more there is no place in the starting team for Michael Darragh MacAuley while a number of positional changes sees Diarmuid Connolly move into full-forward with Kevin McManamon dropping back to 11.

Earlier, Kildare boss Jason Ryan was forced to make one change to his team with influential Celbridge centre-back Fergal Conway ruled out after damaging an eye socket against Laois in the quarter-final replay victory at O’Connor Park in Tullamore.

Naas clubman Eoin Doyle came on as a blood sub for Conway in the first half against Laois and replaced him permanently at half-time.

Fergal Conway in action against Robbie Kehoe Fergal Conway has been ruled out with an eye injury. Ken Sutton / INPHO Ken Sutton / INPHO / INPHO

And Doyle has been handed a start at left-half-back, with Emmet Bolton shifted to centre back in Ryan’s team.

Throw-in at Croke Park on Sunday is at 4pm and you can follow all of the action live with The42‘s team at GAA HQ.


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
3. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
4. Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)

5. Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

8. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
9. Brian Fenton (Raheny)

10. Paul Flynn (Fingallians)
11. Kevin McManamon (St Judes)
12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)

13. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
14. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincents)
15. Bernard Brogan (Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruaidh)


1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

2. Ciaran Fitzpatrick (Kilcock)
3. Mick O Grady (Celbridge)
4. Ollie Lyons (Celbridge )

5. Kevin Murnaghan (Moorefield)
6. Emmet Bolton (Eadestown)
7. Eoin Doyle (Naas)

8. Gary White (Sarsfields)
9. Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)

10. Padraig O’Neill (St Laurence’s)
11. Eoghan O’Flaherty (Carbury)
12. Cathal McNally (Johnstownbridge)

13. Eamonn Callaghan (Naas)
14. Alan Smith (Sarsfields)
15. Padraig Fogarty (St Laurence’s)

5 changes for Meath and one for Westmeath ahead of Leinster football semi-final

‘The guys were very conscious of it – they would have known the legend that Jimmy Doyle was’

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.