Reid the scoring star as Kilkenny hold off Galway's fightback to repeat All-Ireland victory

Paul Hoban’s second-half goal gave Galway hope.

Kilkenny’s Kevin Kelly and TJ Reid with Gearoid McInerney and Fergal Moore of Galway
Kilkenny’s Kevin Kelly and TJ Reid with Gearoid McInerney and Fergal Moore of Galway
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Kilkenny 0-21
Galway 1-14

KILKENNY CLINCHED A second successive win in front of their home fans in Nowlan Park this afternoon as they repeated last September’s All-Ireland final success over Galway.

After late goals clinched the spoils against Tipperary a fortnight ago, it was Kilkenny’s point scoring ability that was crucial here.

TJ Reid was in exceptional form for Kilkenny as they went in front 0-13 to 0-5 at the break and they were ahead 0-16 to 0-9 midway through the second-half.

TJ Reid celebrates a point TJ Reid celebrates scoring a point today for Kilkenny Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Galway launched a superb fightback though with Paul Hoban netting and they only trailed by a single point, 0-17 to 1-13, when Joe Canning raised a white flag.

Yet Kilkenny rallied with Richie Hogan and Reid notching the insurance points.

Reid finished with 0-14 to this credit, displaying the form that illustrates why he was the Hurler of the Year in 2015, while Canning struck 0-8 for Galway.

Scorers for Kilkenny: TJ Reid 0-14 (0-7f, 0-3 ’65), Richie Hogan, Conor Fogarty, James Maher 0-2 each, Colin Fennelly 0-1.

Scorers for Galway: Joe Canning 0-8 (0-3f), Paul Hoban 1-0, Iarla Tannian, Davy Glennon 0-2 each, Jason Flynn, Padraig Brehony 0-1 each.

Joe Canning dejected after the game A dejected Joe Canning after today's game. Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

2. Shane Prendergast (Clara)
3. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
4. Jackie Tyrrell (James Stephens)

5. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
6. Kieran Joyce (Rower-Inistioge)
7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)

8. Lester Ryan (Clara)
9. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)

10. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. James Maher (St Lachtains)

13. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
14. Kevin Kelly (St Patrick’s)
15. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)

Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown) for Kelly (62)


1. James Skehill (Cappataggle)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

3. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore-Maree)
4. Fergal Moore (Turloughmore)
6. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)

7. Aidan Harte (Gort)
8. David Burke (St Thomas’)
2. Paul Hoban (Loughrea)

5. Andy Smith (Portumna)
12. Davy Glennon (Mullagh)

11. Niall Burke (Oranmore-Maree)
9. Iarla Tannian (Ardrahan)
10. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)

13. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
14. Joe Canning (Portumna)
15. Jason Flynn (Tommie Larkins)

Eanna Burke (St Thomas) for Mannion (half-time)
Matthew Keating (Turloughmore) for Smith (41)
Padraig Brehony (Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry) for Whelan (52)
Shane Maloney (Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry) for Tannian (60)
Richie Cummins (Gort) for Flynn (68)

Referee: Barry Kelly (Westmeath)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Hannon nets as Limerick stay unbeaten while Wexford claim 23-point victory

Stunning point from 100 metre free by Gleeson hands Waterford victory over Tipperary

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: