Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 8°C
Morgan Treacy/INPHO TJ Reid celebrates with the Kilkenny senior trophy.
# Peerless
Perfect 10 from TJ Reid gives Ballyhale another Kilkenny senior hurling title
Clara were unable to hold on after an early burst of scoring.

Ballyhale Shamrocks 1-20
Clara 1-13

TJ REID CAPPED a thrilling year with a perfect 10 points at Nowlan Park as Ballyhale Shamrocks’ claimed a 15th Kilkenny SHC title.

Aside from two missed frees and a blocked goal attempt, Reid was virtually flawless over the hour at Nowlan Park and underlined his Hurler of the Year nominee credentials.

The captain and All-Ireland medallist with Kilkenny scored five points in both halves.

And when Clara fought back to trail by just three in the last 10 minutes, Reid stood up again with three points in a row to seal a sixth title in nine seasons.

James ‘Cha’ Fitzpatrick and Bob Aylward were excellent too and will john Cats icon Henry Shefflin for next weekend’s AIB Leinster club clash with Kilmacud Crokes.

Holders Clara, seeking back to back titles and just their third ever county success, couldn’t have asked for a better start.

They moved 1-2 to 0-1 up inside four minutes with corner-forward Chris Bolger helping himself to 1-1.

With county man Lester Ryan at midfield, they were sharp in attack and proceeded to pick off some fine points from distance.

They deserved led 1-6 to 1-4 with 16 minutes on the clock and looked in a good position to push on.

But Ballyhale came roaring into the game in the second quarter and picked off seven points in a row.

Morgan Treacy / INPHO Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

Reid was peerless and set up several scores for team-mates to propel the 2012 winners into a 1-11 to 1-6 half-time lead.

Clara didn’t score between the 16th and 32nd minutes. Keith Hogan ended the barren run with his second free after the restart.

But back to back Reid points put Ballyhale on the front foot again. They didn’t quit speed clear throughout a second-half that was more evenly contested.

In fact, Clara with free-taker Hogan on top form recovered to trail 1-16 to 1-13 with 11 minutes left.

Typically though, Reid was at the hub of a late burst to seal a fully deserved seven-point win.

Scorers for Ballyhale Shamrocks: TJ Reid 0-10 (0-5f, 1 65), Mark Aylward 1-1, Colin Fennelly 0-3, Henry Shefflin, James Fitzpatrick, Eoin Reid 0-2 each.
Scorers for Clara: Chris Bolger 1-2, Keith Hogan 0-5 (0-5f), Conor O’Shea 0-2 (0-1 s/l), Lester Ryan, Neal Prendergast, Killian Phelan (0-1f), Austin Murphy 0-1 each.


1. Richie Reid

2. Alan Cuddihy
3. Joey Holden
4. Tom Coogan

5. Paul Shefflin
6. Michael Fennelly
8. Bob Aylward

7. Conor Walsh
9. David Hoyne

10. James Fitzpatrick
14. Colin Fennelly
11. Henry Shefflin

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

13. Eoin Reid
12. TJ Reid
15. Mark Aylward

Subs: 20. Brian Cody for Mark Aylward (58 mins)


1. Killian Phelan

2. Dermot Nolan
3. Sean O’Shea
4. Shane Prendergast

5. Neal Prendergast
6. Tom Ryan
7. David Langton

8. Lester Ryan
9. Jack Langton

10. Conor O’Shea
11. Keith Hogan
12. Liam Ryan

13. Chris Bolger
14. Austin Murphy
15. James Nolan

Subs: 17. Ciaran Prendergast for Murphy (44 mins), 20. Peter Nolan for L Ryan (58 mins), 21. David Prendergast for O’Shea (60 mins)

Referee: G Quilty (Slieverue).

2012 champions Kilcormac-Killoughey back in Leinster senior club hurling final

As It Happened: Kilkenny senior hurling final and Leinster club semi-final

Your Voice
Readers Comments