Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Saturday 8 May 2021

Ringrose and Van der Flier drop out of Leinster XV, Fitzgerald and O'Brien start

The duo are part of six changes made by Leo Cullen.

Fitzgerald and Te'o reunited in midfield.
Fitzgerald and Te'o reunited in midfield.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

LEINSTER HEAD COACH Leo Cullen has replaced his two most in-form young guns with proven internationals for tomorrow night’s Pro12 trip to face Ospreys in Swansea (kick-off 19.45).

Garry Ringrose and Josh van der Flier drop out of the matchday 23 to be replaced by Luke Fitzgerald and Sean O’Brien.

Ringrose and Van der Flier (aged 20 and 22) were among the sizable chunk of Cullen’s squad called away to an Ireland mini-camp on Monday and missed the early part of the week’s preparation as a result.

There are men in the starting line-up who went through the same schedule this week. But Cullen has trusted in their experience of dealing with fractured weeks and given them starting berths at a venue where Leinster have not won a league fixture for over five years.

There are four other changes to the side which defeated Connacht 13 – 0 at the RDS last time out. Fergus McFadden is banned and is replaced by captain Isa Nacewa. Luke McGrath replaces Eoin Reddan after recovering from a foot infection. Jordi Murphy makes way for Jamie Heaslip and Tadhg Furlong starts at tighthead prop in place of Marty Moore.


15 Dan Evans
14 Jeff Hassler
13 Jonathan Spratt
12 Owen Watkin
11 Hanno Dirksen
10 Dan Biggar
9 Brendon Leonard

1 Paul James (Capt)
2 Scott Baldwin
3 Aaron Jarvis
4 Lloyd Ashley
5 Rory Thornton
6 James King
7 Sam Underhill
8 Dan Baker


Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

16 Scott Otten
17 Nicky Smith
18 Ma’afu Fia
19 Alun Wyn Jones
20 Justin Tipuric
21 Tom Habberfield
22 Sam Davies
23 Eli Walker


15. Rob Kearney
14. Isa Nacewa (Capt.)
13. Ben Te’o
12. Luke Fitzgerald
11. Dave Kearney
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Luke McGrath

1. Jack McGrath
2. Richardt Strauss
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Devin Toner
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Sean O’Brien
8. Jamie Heaslip


16. Sean Cronin
17. Peter Dooley
18. Marty Moore
19. Tom Denton
20. Dominic Ryan
21. Eoin Reddan
22. Ian Madigan
23. Noel Reid

Hurling background gives Offaly’s Dooley solid footing as he seeks first Leinster start

Healy undergoes knee operation in bid to ensure Six Nations fitness

Fergus McFadden handed three-week ban for stamp on Nathan White

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: