Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Friday 14 May 2021

Te'o and McFadden back for Leinster, Ulster boosted by Ruan return

Both coaches have been able to recall the big guns for tomorrow’s inter-pro.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

LEINSTER COACH MATT O’Connor has made five changes to the side that lost in Thomond Park last week and all five incoming players are Ireland internationals.

Winger Fergus McFadden is the only change in the back-line, the Kildare man starts in place of Darragh Fanning on the right wing. McFadden is not the only one returning from injury for the clash with Ulster. Ben Te’o has been named on the bench and will be hoping for a smoother introduction to rugby union than his October debut which ended with a fractured forearm.

Dave Kearney continues on the left wing outside of the centre partnership of Gordon D’Arcy and Luke Fitzgerald with Ian Madigan asked to control the game from number 10.

The pack sees four changes with captain Jamie Heaslip drafted back in, Devin Toner starting alongside Mike McCarthy in the second row and props Mike Ross and Jack McGrath will pack down either side of Richardt Strauss.

Ulster, meanwhile, have made four changes for the trip to Dublin. Neil Doak is also able to bring internationals back into the fold in the shape of Rory Best, Tommy Bowe and Stuart Olding.

However, it is the scrum-half that will perhaps give the northern province most confidence as Ruan Pienaar will return to direct traffic from behind the pack.


1. Jack McGrath
2, Richardt Strauss
3. Mike Ross
4. Devin Toner
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Jack Conan
7. Shane Jennings
8. Jamie Heaslip (Capt.)
9. Isaac Boss
10. Ian Madigan
11. Dave Kearney
12. Gordon D’Arcy
13. Luke Fitzgerald
14. Fergus McFadden
15. Zane Kirchner

16. Sean Cronin
17. Michael Bent
18. Tadhg Furlong
19. Kane Douglas
20. Jordi Murphy
21. Luke McGrath
22. Jimmy Gopperth
23. Ben Te’o


1. Callum Black
2. Rory Best (Capt.)
3. Wiehahn Herbst
4. Dan Tuohy
%. Franco Van Der Merwe
6. Robbie Diack
7. Clive Ross
8. Roger Wilson
9. Ruan Pienaar
10. Paddy Jackson
11. Craig Gilroy
12. Stuart Olding
13. Darren Cave
14. Tommy Bowe
15. Peter Nelson

16. Rob Herring
17. Andrew Warwick
18. Bronson Ross
19. Alan O’Connor
20. Sean Reidy
21. Paul Marshall
22. Ian Humphreys
23. Luke Marshall.

New found flair the difference for Connacht against Munster — John Muldoon

Heaslip insisting Leinster ‘in a good space’ as he narrows focus to Ulster threat

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: