Dublin: 13°C Sunday 22 May 2022

Huge shock in Galway as Morrissey stars for Liam Mellows to secure first county title in 47 years

Gort came up short in the decider for the second successive time and were beaten by three points at Pearse Stadium.

Liam Mellows’ Tadgh Haran celebrates scoring a goal for his side at Pearse Stadium.
Liam Mellows’ Tadgh Haran celebrates scoring a goal for his side at Pearse Stadium.
Image: Tommy Dickson; ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Liam Mellows 3-12

Gort 1-15

Daragh Small reports from Salthill.  

FULL-FORWARD ADRIAN Morrissey scored eight points for Liam Mellows as they bridged a 47-year gap to shock Gort in the Galway SHC final at Pearse Stadium in Salthill.

It’s the second year in a row that Gort came up short in the county final having lost to St Thomas’ in 2016.

But Aonghus Callanan and Tadhg Haran scored the first-half goals for Liam Mellows and Conor Kavanagh’s strike pushed them clear before Richie Cummins’ late consolation.

The game was level with one minute of normal time remaining at the end of the first-half, but Liam Mellows scored 1-2 to hold a 2-7 to 0-8 lead at half-time.

Morrissey scored first for Liam Mellows, from a free in the fourth minute, and Jason Grealish levelled proceedings.

Gort went on to hold a 0-6 to 0-4 lead in the 16th minute when Aidan Helebert landed his first free and fourth point of the day.

Andy Coen with Aonghus Callanan Source: Tommy Dickson; ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson/INPHO

But a long ball from Jack Hastings was fielded by Callanan and he outmuscled Andy Coen before blasting over the head of Gavin Lally and into the roof of the Gort net.

That gave Liam Mellows a 1-4 to 0-6 advantage, and Gort made amends before Haran struck the second goal in the 31st minute. He also raced in along the left end-line and finished expertly, low past Lally.

A couple of Aiden Helebert frees eased Gort into the second-half and they got the deficit back to just two but Kavanagh struck in the 48th minute.

Aonghus Callanan celebrates scoring a goal Source: Tommy Dickson; ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Michael Mullins was shown a straight red when he was involved off the ball with David Collins and Richie Cummins scored a late goal but Liam Mellows held on.

Scorers for Liam Mellows:Adrian Morrissey 0-8 (0-7f), Tadhg Haran 1-2 (0-2sl), Aonghus Callanan 1-1, Conor Kavanagh 1-0, Ronan Elwood 0-1.

Scorers for Gort:

Aidan Helebert 0-10 (0-7f), Richard Cummins 1-0, Greg Lally 0-2 (0-2f), Albert Mullins 0-1, Jason Grealish 0-1, Kaelen Higgins 0-1.

Liam Mellows

1. Kenneth Walsh

4. Cathal Reilly
6. Michael Conneely
3. Sean Morrissey

2. Mark Hughes
5. David Collins
9. Stephen Barrett

7. Jack Hastings
8. Kevin Lee

15. Conor Hynes
13. Tadhg Haran
11. Ronan Elwood

14. Adrian Morrissey
12. Aonghus Callanan
10. Conor Kavanagh

17. Jack Forde for C Hynes (57′)
19. David Fahy for Callanan (60′)
21. Conor Elwood for Kavanagh (62′).


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member


1. Gavin Lally

2. Mark McMahon
3. Andy Coen
4. Michael Cummins

5. Patrick Lally
6. Greg Lally
7. Jack Grealish

8. Sylvie Og Linnane
11. Aidan Harte

10. Michael Mullins
13. Aiden Helebert
9. Kaelen Higgins

12. Albert Mullins
14. Richard Cummins
15. Jason Grealish

18. Niall Forde for M Cummins (4′)
4. M Cummins for N Forde (5′)
19. Jack Commins for A Mullins (49′)
18. N Forde for M Cummins (53′)
17. Paul Killilea for Jason Grealish (55′)
20. Keith Killilea for Helebert (60′)

Referee: Christy Browne

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

About the author:

Daragh Small

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel