Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Friday 23 April 2021

Limerick and Waterford draw in Munster minor hurling final

A late Tom Morrissey goal rescued a draw for Limerick.

Image: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

Limerick 2-19
Waterford 2-19

LIMERICK and Waterford must replay their Electric Ireland Munster minor hurling championship final following a thrilling stalemate between the sides at the Gaelic Grounds this afternoon.

Sub Tom Morrissey scored a stunning equalising goal for Limerick in the final minute to complete a remarkable fightback.

The young Shannonsiders seemed energised by the arrival of home supporters for the senior game and they rallied from 0-16 to 2-18 behind.

In the final nine minutes, Limerick outscored Waterford by 2-3 to 0-1 and it was Morrissey who sparked the fightback with a 51st minute point.

And the Treaty boys were right back in contention when Ronan Lynch, scorer of 1-9 today and 1-7 in the semi-final victory over Tipp, buried a 20m free to the back of the Waterford net.

Further points followed from Lynch and Pat Ryan before Stephen Bennett floated over a Déise point to push thm three ahead.

But there was time for Morrissey to strike with that excellent late goal and after the first provincial minor hurling final between the counties since 1958, they must do it all over again.

Limerick were going for the first title since way back in 1984, and their sixth in all, with Waterford bidding for a fifth crown and first since 2009.

And for long periods, it looked as if Waterford, beaten finalists in 2010 and 2011, would get the job done.

They were three points clear by half-time – 0-12 to 0-9 – and it could have been even better had Stephen Bennett’s 26th minute penalty not been saved.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Within seconds of the restart, Bennett redeemed himself with a fine finish for Waterford’s opening goal and they looked home and hosed when Micheál Harney added a second eleven minutes from time.

But Limerick were not done yet and the dream of ending that 29-year famine remains alive.

INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan

Scorers for Waterford: Stephen Bennett 1-2, Patrick Curran 0-5 (1f, 1 65) Austin Gleeson (2f) & Colm Roche 0-3 each, DJ Foran 0-2, Shane Bennett, Conor Gleeson, Adam Farrell & Michael Kearney 0-1 each.
Scorers for Limerick: Ronan Lynch 1-9 (1-8f, 0-1 65), Tom Morrissey 1-1, Cian Lynch 0-4, Barry Nash 0-3, Pat Ryan 0-2.

WATERFORD: Gavin Power (Dungarvan); William Hahessey (Clonea), Kevin Daly (Dungarvan), Cian Leamy (Ballyduff Upper); Tom Devine (Modeligo), Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion), Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart); Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater), Michéal Harney (Bonmahon); Adam Farrell (De La Salle), Colm Roche (Shamrocks), DJ Foran (Portlaw); Patrick Curran (Dungarvan), Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart), Michael Kearney (Ballyduff Upper).

Subs: Cormac Curran (Brickey Rangers) for Farrell (51), Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank) for Gleeson (54), Paul O’Connor (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg) for Harney (57).

LIMERICK: Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen); Jamie Porter (Monaleen), Richard English (Doon), Sean Finn (Bruff); Stephen Ryan (Doon), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), Sean Flanagan (Feohanagh/Castlemahon); Jamie Butler (Feohanagh/Castlemahon), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon); Barry Nash (South Liberties), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell); Dean Coleman (Doon), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Pat Ryan (Doon).

Subs: Graham Whelan (Bruff) for O’Donovan (37), Stephen Power (Ahane) for Flanagan (43), Tom Morrissey (Ahane) for Coleman (48), Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh) for Porter (50).

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary).

LIVE: Limerick v Cork, Munster senior hurling final

5 talking points from yesterday’s GAA action

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: