Another Cork footballer has been called up to JBM's hurling squad

Mark Collins has previously played for the Cork hurlers at minor and U21 level

Mark Collins featured for the Cork footballers in their recent defeat to Mayo. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

MARK COLLINS HAS become the latest Cork footballer to be drafted in to Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s Rebel senior hurling squad ahead of Sunday’s All-Ireland semi-final against Tipperary.

Collins has been brought in to the extended Cork hurling panel in the wake of the footballers exit from the championship at the hands of Mayo last Sunday week. Cork selector Johnny Crowley confirmed the news to the Evening Echo today.

Collins has previous hurling experience with Cork having played for the county minor side in 2008 when he won a Munster medal before losing out to Galway at the All-Ireland semi-final stage. Current Cork senior hurlers Darren McCarthy, Aidan Walsh, William Egan, Jamie Coughlan and Luke O’Farrell were all part of that squad.

In 2010, Collins featured on the Cork team that lost to Tipperary in the Munster U21 semi-final after extra-time. McCarthy, Stephen McDonnell, Conor O’Sullivan, Egan, Lorcán McLoughlin, Daniel Kearney, Conor Lehane and O’Farrell were amongst his teammates that night.

Tipperary, who won by 2-17 to 0-21 in that game, included Padraic, Brendan and Patrick Maher in their side along with Michael Cahill, James Barry, John O’Dwyer and Noel McGrath.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

In recent times Collins has played hurling in the Cork senior championship for his club Douglas featuring alongside Eoin and Alan Cadogan, and Stephen Moylan. He joins fellow dual players Damien Cahalane, Walsh and the Cadogan brothers in the hurling ranks.

Mark Collins pictured in action for Cork in the 2008 All-Ireland minor hurling semi-final. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

‘We hadn’t planned for Plan B’ – Tipp selector on losing to Limerick and comparisons with 2010

POLL: Who’s your tip now to claim the Liam MacCarthy Cup in 2014?

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: