Dublin: 4°C Saturday 27 November 2021

Here are the draws for the 2016 Mayo and Meath senior football championships

The draws were made in the Connacht and Leinster counties tonight.

MAYO AND MEATH senior club players discovered their fate for 2016 with the respective county senior football championship draws made in the counties tonight.

Aidan OÕShea Breaffy's Aidan O'Shea and Castlebar Mitchels Aidan Walsh in opposition at last year's Mayo county senior final. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Reigning champions Castlebar Mitchels – who face Crossmaglen Rangers in next Saturday’s AIB All-Ireland senior semi final – have been drawn in Group 3 of the Mayo championship.

2016 Senior Football Championship

  • Group 1 – Breaffy, Garrymore, Davitts, Claremorris
  • Group 2 – Ballintubber, Aghamore, Charlestown, Hollymount-Carramore
  • Group 3 – Castlebar Mitchels, Ballina Stephenites, Crossmolina, Ballinrobe
  • Group 4 – Knockmore, Kiltane, Ballaghaderreen, Ballyhaunis

Meanwhile reigning Meath kingpins Navan O’Mahony’s were drawn in Group C in their senior football draw for 2016.

Navan OÕMahoneyÕs players gather for a team talk before the game Navan O'Mahony's are bidding for a three-in-a-row in Meath this year. Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

2016 Senior Football Championship

  • Group A  - Ballinlough, Gaeil Colmcille, Rathkenny, Seneschalstown, Skryne, Blackhall Gaels
  • Group B – Dunboyne, Duleek Bellewstown, Donaghmore-Ashbourne, St Patrick’s, Summerhill, Ratoath
  • Group C – Simonstown Gaels, Wolfe Tones, Dunshaughlin, Na Fianna, Navan O’Mahony’s, Moynalvey

Poll: Who do you think will win this year’s Division 1 hurling league title?

Here are the 37 GAA fixtures to look out for this week

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: