This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 7 °C Wednesday 16 October, 2019
Advertisement

Is this the definitive angle on that Tyrone penalty 'dive'?

Replays show that Padraig McNulty had a handful of Aidan O’Mahony’s jersey before going to ground.

Source: RTÉ.ie

PENALTY OR NOT?

Maurice Deegan’s decision to book Padraig McNulty for diving was one of the central talking points in Sunday’s All-Ireland football semi-final.

Tyrone trailed Kerry by a point in the 65th minute when McNulty went to ground inside the square.

Instead of awarding the Ulstermen a second penalty, Deegan blew for a Kerry free and booked McNulty for simulation.

Coming at such a key point in the match, the decision was a contentious one, and the initial replays appeared to show significant contact between Aidan O’Mahony and the Tyrone sub.

Source: RTÉ.ie

But The Sunday Game panel highlighted a different angle which appeared to show McNulty grabbing a handful of Mahony’s jersey before hitting the deck.

Source: RTÉ.ie

“A lot of people thought this was a penalty — it absolutely isn’t a penalty,” Kevin McStay said. “It’s a brilliant decision by the referee.”

Padraig has a grab of his hand and a grab of his jersey, and he’s looking for that call.

Former Tyrone Allstar Brian McGuigan and Kerry great Tomás Ó Sé both admitted to changing their minds on seeing the replay.

McGuigan said: “At the actual time, I thought it wasn’t a penalty. I thought McNulty had tried to buy it.

Watching it back, I changed my mind but seeing that picture there, McNulty does grab his (Aidan O’Mahony’s) jersey and go to the ground very easily.

Ó Sé added: “Seeing it in real time I thought it was a penalty. It is very hard to call it in real time.

“Hindsight, with the benefit of slow-motion and all of that, it wasn’t.”

‘It just doesn’t seem to make sense’ – Mickey Harte baffled by black card rule

‘There’s a lot of people in the media who try to tarnish the victories that we got’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:

COMMENTS (38)