Saturday 4 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
Morgan Treacy/INPHO Meath boss Mick O'Dowd has made five changes to his starting line-up.
# Royal Rumble
5 changes for Meath and one for Westmeath ahead of Leinster football semi-final
The counties clash at Croke Park on Sunday.

MEATH BOSS MICK O’Dowd has tinkered with a third of his starting line-up for Sunday’s Leinster senior football championship semi-final against Westmeath at Croke Park.

Royal County supremo O’Dowd is rolling out the big guns for the showdown against the Lake County with Conor McGill, Mickey Burke, Bryan Menton, Kevin Reilly and Mickey Newman coming in for starts.

Davy Dalton, Nicky Judge and Brian Power make way in defence, with Adam Flanagan and Joey Wallace also dropping out.

Lorcan Smyth 4/1/2015 Cathal Noonan / INPHO Lorcan Smyth will start for Westmeath on Sunday. Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

There’s just the one change in the Westmeath team named by manager Tom Cribbin.

Lorcan Smyth has been called up ahead of Ronan Foley but there are a number of positional switches in Cribbin’s reshuffled pack. 

Callum McCormack, one of Westmeath’s goalscorers against Wicklow, is ruled out again with the hamstring injury that saw him miss out on the quarter-final victory over Wexford.

Throw in at Croke Park on Sunday is at 2pm and you can follow all of the action live with The42′s team at GAA HQ.


1. Patrick O Rourke (Skryne)

2. James Mc Entee (Curraha)
3.Conor Mc Gill (Ratoath)
4. Donncha Tobin (Blackhall Gaels)

5. Mickey Burke (Longwood)
6. Donal Keogan (Rathkenny, Capt.)
7. Bryan Menton (Donaghmore Ashbourne)

8. Harry Rooney (Skryne)
9. Kevin Reilly (Navan O Mahony’s)

10. Graham Reilly (St. Colmcille’s)
11. Padraic Harnan (Moynalvey)
12. Andrew Tormey (Donaghmore Ashbourne)

13. Michael Newman (Kilmainham)
14. Stephen Bray (Navan O’Mahony’s)
15. Brian Mc Mahon (Ratoath)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


1. Darren Quinn (Tyrrellspass)

2. Killian Daly (Mullingar Shamrocks)
3. Kevin Maguire (Caulry)
4. John Gilligan (Ballymore)

5. Paddy Holloway (Castledaly)
6. Kieran Martin (Maryland)
7. James Dolan (Garrycastle)

8. Paul Sharry (St Loman’s)
9. Daragh Daly (Mullingar Shamrocks)

10. Ray Connellan (Athlone)
11. Ger Egan (Tyrrellspass, capt.)
12. Denis Corroon (Mullingar Shamrocks)

13. Lorcan Smyth (Mullingar Shamrocks)
14. John Heslin (St Loman’s)
15. Shane Dempsey (St Loman’s)

‘The guys were very conscious of it – they would have known the legend that Jimmy Doyle was’

‘They have to be the most maligned bunch in the country’ – Fitzmaurice on Cork


Your Voice
Readers Comments