Mike Brown will not face citing for kick to Conor Murray's head

The ‘Quins fullback has no case to answer as England move within two games of a Grand Slam.

ENGLAND FULLBACK MIKE Brown will not be cited for the kick which connected with the head of Conor Murray.

The Harlequins man was attempting to kick the ball out of a late ruck in front of England’s posts during the 21 – 10 win over Ireland in Twickenham, but left Murray bloodied and needing eight stitches.


Eddie Jones defended his players’ actions in the wake of Saturday’s win. The incident was reviewed by the TMO and referee Romaine Poite during the game and no citing complaint was made by commissioner Douglas Hunter today.

Brown will be free to play the remaining two games of England’s Six Nations campaign against Wales and France.

Italy prop Martin Castrogiovanni was the only player to be cited from round three, the veteran tighthead will have a ‘stamping’ case to answer for this incident in the defeat to Scotland.


The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Schmidt needs quick learners as Ireland look to lose ‘bad habit’ of failing to win

Keatley’s late penalty sees Foley’s Munster squeeze past Treviso

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: