Monaghan book first All-Ireland semi spot since 1988 with emphatic win over Galway

Malachy O’Rourke’s men will face either Donegal or Tyrone next weekend.

Image: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Monaghan 0-16
Galway 0-8

By Daragh Small

RYAN MCANESPIE SCORED four points to guide Monaghan through to their first All-Ireland semi-final since 1988 after they secured a deserved victory over Galway at Pearse Stadium in Salthill.

Malachy O’Rourke’s men will also have a day longer rest before they clash with the runners-up from Group 2 next Sunday while Galway are set to play reigning champions Dublin, with Kerry bowing out of the 2018 championship.

Monaghan were 0-7 to 0-5 ahead at the interval after they dominated much of the first half but couldn’t open up a bigger gap.

But the scores flowed in the second half Monaghan eventually went on to win by double scores with three players sent-off in the closing stages after picking up second yellow cards.

Galway captain Damien Comer won the toss and chose to play with the breeze in the first half with Eamonn Brannigan on target inside 30 seconds.

But the big Monaghan travelling support watched on as their side took control for the rest of the opening quarter. Fintan Kelly scored in the third minute and further points arrived through Vinny Corey and Darren Hughes.

Malachy O'Rourke celebrates with Colin Walsh Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Ryan Wylie also got forward to force a save from Ruairí Lavelle in the Galway goal before the hosts hit back with a free from Shane Walsh in the 19th minute.

That was quickly cancelled out by the superb Ryan McAnespie and then Colin Walshe gave Monaghan a 0-5 to 0-2 advantage.

Peter Cooke scored an inspirational effort from distance in the 27th minute and Galway began to take a bit more of a foothold in the game.

Dangerman McManus didn’t score from play in the first 35 minutes, however tagged on his first point from a free and McAnespie scored after some sublime skill.

But Galway hit the last two points of the half from Gary O’Donnell and Walsh to reduce the margin to 0-7 to 0-5 at half-time.

McManus did score from play in the 38th minute while Comer opened his account up the other end. But Monaghan continued to drive at their opponents and took a 0-11 to 0-6 lead

It was three points in-a-row for the Ulster men and Brannigan’s second was a welcome reprieve for Galway with 20 minutes remaining but they only managed one point after that.

Conor McManus and Declan Kyne Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Dermot Malone extended Monaghan’s lead and two big frees from McManus and goalkeeper Rory Beggan eased them to victory with Drew Wylie, Damien Comer and Colin Walshe all seeing red for second yellows late on.

Scorers for Monaghan: Conor McManus 0-5 (0-4f), Ryan McAnespie 0-4, Darren Hughes 0-2, Rory Beggan 0-1 (0-1f), Fintan Kelly 0-1, Vinny Corey 0-1, Colin Walshe 0-1, Dermot Malone 0-1.

Scorers for Galway: Shane Walsh 0-2 (0-2f), Eamonn Brannigan 0-2, Peter Cooke 0-1, Garry O’Donnell 0-1, Damien Comer 0-1, Ian Burke 0-1.


1. Rory Beggan (Scotstown)

4. Ryan Wylie (Ballybay)
3. Drew Wylie (Ballybay)
2. Kieran Duffy (Latton)

7. Karl O’Connell (Tyholland)
19. Colin Walshe (Doohamlet)
6. Vinny Corey (Clontibret)

8. Niall Kearns (Sean McDermott’s)
9. Darren Hughes (Scotstown)

14. Fintan Kelly (Clones)
23. Dermot Malone (Castleblaney)
11. Shane Carey (Scotstown)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

13. Conor McCarthy (Scotstown)
10. Ryan McAnespie (Emyvale)
15. Conor McManus (Clontibret)


20. Neil McAdam (Monaghan Harps) for Hughes (37, blood)
30. Hughes for McAdam (half-time)
25. Jack McCarron (Currin) for McCarthy (58)
20. McAdam for Kearns (63)
24. Paudie McKenna (Truagh) for Carey (66)
5. Dessie Mone (Clontibret) for O’Connell (69).


1. Ruairí Lavelle (Salthill/Knocknacarra)

2. Declan Kyne (Clonbur)
3. Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh (Naomh Ánna/Leitir Mór)
4. Eoghan Kerin (Annaghdown)

5. Cathal Sweeney (Killannin)
6. Gareth Bradshaw (Moycullen)
24. Garry O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)

8. Peter Cooke (Moycullen)
9. Tom Flynn (Athenry)

15. Eamonn Brannigan (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
10. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)
12. Seán Kelly (Moycullen)

25. Adrian Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks)
14. Damien Comer (Annaghdown)
13. Ian Burke (Corofin)


11. Patrick Sweeney (Killannin) for Varley (42)
21. Ciarán Duggan for Cooke (53rd minute)
7. Johnny Heaney (Killannin) for Ó Ceallaigh (57)
19. Pádraic Cunningham (Headford) for Brannian (61)
26. David Wynne (Moycullen) for Kerin (63)
18. Danny Cummins (Claregalway) for Burke (68).

Referee: Conor Lane (Cork).

About the author:

Daragh Small

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel